Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
QNL Logo

World History: Home

Getting Started

You have several ways to find information. Use the:

Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.

Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.

A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.

Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.

Help is Here!

Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need! 

Reference Sources

Welcome

Welcome to the Library's World History Subject Guide!

This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to world history, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.

World History Print Collection

Most print titles you see in this guide are shelved or organized within Class D of the Library of Congress Classification

World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc.

D: History (General)

DA: Great Britain

DAW: Central Europe

DB: Austria - Liechtenstein - Hungary - Czechoslovakia

DC: France - Andorra - Monaco

DD: Germany

DE: Greco-Roman World

DF: Greece

DG: Italy - Malta

DH: Low Countries – Benelux countries

DJ: Netherlands (Holland)

DJK: Eastern Europe (General)

DK: Russia. Soviet Union, former Soviet Republics - Poland

DL: Northern Europe, Scandinavia

DP: Spain - Portugal

DQ: Switzerland

DR: Balkan Peninsula

DS: Asia

DT: Africa

DU: Oceania (South Seas)

DX: Gypsies

Most titles are located in Tier 2 as mapped in the image below. The spread on the shelves varies as new titles are added regularly. For shelf information, refer to the catalog.

 

Reference Librarian

Maha M. Al-Naimi| مها النعيمي's picture
Maha M. Al-Naimi| مها النعيمي
Subjects الموضوعات:
History التاريخ, History of the Gulf تاريخ الخليج, Humanities العلوم الإنسانية
Questions?
 

Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.

How to Register as a Library Member

Innovation Stations

Programs and Events

Feedback and Suggestions 

How Do I Cite a Source