Zotero: Citation Management Made Easy: Creating bibliographies

Zotero comes with the most common bibliographic styles, but many more are available to download.

To install a style:

1. Go to the Zotero Standalone and select 'Settings' .
2. 
3. Select the 'Cite tab'
4. Review existing styles in the Style Manager; import additional styles if required
5. To do so, click 'Get additional styles...'
6. Browse/search for the desired style template and left-click to add to the Style Manager
7. 

The new style will now appear in Zotero's style lists.

Note: Cite Them Right edition.

If the Zotero tab does not appear in Word, consult and follow the instructions [here]. Alternatively, follow the audio-visual screen-cast instructions [here].

If you work with a MAC and the Zotero plugin add-on is missing in MS Word, follow the instructions [here]. Importantly, note that popular word processor programs, such as Apple Pages and WPS don’t have any way for Zotero to be able to read the document, insert and edit text, or embed citation data. For more details, check out this [thread].

How to move Zotero Citations between Google Docs, Word, and LibreOffice. See advice here.

If you are using the Zotero application :

It is straightforward to quickly create a bibliography or reference list from your Zotero library.

Select the references or collections you would like to include. Hold the crtl key and mouse-click multiple items. Right click one of the selected items and choose 'Create Bibliography.'

Select the bibliographic style you want, select 'Copy to Clipboard', click OK and paste into your word processor.

If you are using Zotero website:

Select the references or collections you would like to include. select the books icon to  'Create Bibliography.'

Select the bibliographic style you want, select 'Copy to Clipboard', click OK and paste into your word processor.

​Zotero offers word processing plugins for Word and OpenOffice. The plugin adds a Zotero toolbar to your word processor that allows you to add citations to your document while you write.

To add a citation, click the first button ("Add/Edit Citation") on the toolbar. Search for the reference you want to cite and press Enter. Zotero will add the citation at your cursor.

At the end of your paper, click the "Insert Bibliography" button. Your bibliography will appear, and new citations will be added automatically. Change bibliographic styles with the "Document Preferences" button.