Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
QNL Logo

Academic Writing: Home

Getting Started

You have several ways to find information. Use the: 

Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.

Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.

A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of eJournals titles.

Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.

Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. 

Recommended search terms in Academic Writing:

academic writing 

academic writing style 

writing research papers 

writing journal articles

English academic writing

productive academic writing

academic writing exercises 

Help is Here!

If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need! 

Welcome

Welcome to the Library's Academic Writing Subject Guide!

This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to academic writing, including books, reference materials as well as other free online sources that are accessible through different websites and platforms.

English academic writing is a style of writing used for research proposals, research papers, essays, theses dissertations. It is a process. This guide is intended for students and researchers at any stage in the writing process to learn about academic writing and improve their style. It is intended for researchers at any level, whether you are just starting out or looking for a refresher. It is not tailored toward any particular subject field.

We offer free one-to-one academic writing support. Visit the Library's writing page for details. If you would like to book an appointment for one-to-one writing support, please complete this writing consultation booking form.

To join a group writing workshop, program or event, check out the Library's Event Page.

Reference Sources

English Writing Specialist

Profile Photo
Lynne Fraser| لين فريسر
Subjects الموضوعات:
English Writing الكتابة باللغة الإنجليزية
Questions?
 

Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.

How to Register as a Library Member

Innovation Stations

Programs and Events

Feedback and Suggestions 

How Do I Cite a Source