Biology and Chemistry: Qatar-Related
Insert general description about this page to be used in all subject guides.
This page of the subject guides has been created to help you find science resources that are particularly related to the State of Qatar, such as information about meetings and conferences, research in Qatar, Qatari authors, universities, educational centers, and scientific experts.
Experts in Qatar
Insert here prominent names/researchers/authors and/or individuals who have contributions in this field.
Prof. Ahmed Elzatahry, Dean of the College of Art and Science at Qatar University.
Dr. Fatima Al-Khayat, Head of Department of Biological and Environmental Sciences at Qatar Unversity.
Muhanna bin Rashid bin Mohammed Al-Asiri, a Qatari author who has written many books about the flora and fauna of Qatar.
Prof. Mariam Al-Ali Al-Maadeed, Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies, she is the founder and director of the Center for Advanced Materials at Qatar University.
Research Happening in Qatar
Explore research publications or projects integrated in and around Qatar
- Manara - Qatar Research RepositoryAn open repository for Qatar-based researchers to upload and share their research. It collects, preserves and provides access to a variety of research outputs, including datasets,open access publications, pre-prints of research articles, and non-traditional academic outputs.
Relevant Institutions and Organizations
Below is a list of college courses related to science:
Qatar Unversity:
Biological and Environmental Sciences
MSc in Materials Science and Technology
Mathematics, Statistics and Physics
Community College of Qatar:
University of Doha for Science and Technology:
Bachelor of Science in Occupational Health, Safety and Environment (BSc OHSE)
Bachelor of Science in Midwifery (BSc Mw)
Bachelor of Science in Respiratory Therapy (BSc RT)
Master of Science in Diabetes Care and Patient Education (MSc DCPE)
Carnegie Mellon University-Qatar:
- Bio Training Courses - QatarOnline or onsite, instructor-led live bio (biology or bio-technology) training courses demonstrate through interactive discussions and hands-on practice the fundamentals and advanced topics of the subject.
- Laboratory Animal Research Center (LARC)LARC is the only specific pathogen free (SPF) animal facility (vivarium) in the State of Qatar that provides controlled macro and micro-environments for rodent laboratory animals.
- Biomedical Research Training Program for NationalsResearch at WCM-Q focuses on basic, translational and clinical biomedical research, utilizing world-class core facilities to target the health needs of Qatar and the region.
Numerous associations and organizations linked to biology, chemistry, agriculture, and science are present in Qatar:
- ACS - Student Chapter at Qatar UniversityThe mission of ACS is to enhance the understanding of chemistry at different levels for high-school as well as undergraduate students throughout their university lives.
- Earthna 2023 - Qatar FoundationEarthna is a non-profit policy research and advocacy center, established by Qatar Foundation to provide a holistic view of environmental, social, and economic prosperity.
- Qatar Green Building CouncilA platform showcasing the people and ideas powering the State of Qatar’s development. From uncovering the pioneering spirit of the Qatari people to learning more about Qatar’s advances in sports, the arts, business and culture.
- Qatar Physics SocietyQPS is a non-profit membership organisation that aims to promote and advance the knowledge of physics.
- Qatar Scientific ClubA scientific institution concerned with encouraging research, learning and innovation in the fields of science and technology.
- QU Austronomy ChapterThe Astronomy Chapter gathers Qatar University graduates who are interested in astronomy and space science.
The following ministries and government entities are related to science:
- Hamad Medical CorporationHMC is the principal public healthcare provider in the State of Qatar, delivering the safest, most effective and most compassionate care to each and every one of its patients.
- Ministry of Environment and Climate ChangeMECC is a service ministry that specializes in achieving many goals, foremost of which is protecting the environment, preserving its resources and reducing emissions that cause climate change.
- Ministry of Municipality and EnvironmentMME is a service ministry directly related to the general public, in order to meet the many requirements of their daily life.
- Ministry of Public HealthThe Ministry of Public Health is concerned with all aspects of the health of Qatar's population.
- Primary Health Care CorporationThe Primary Health Care Corporation (PHCC) is dedicated to being the leader in transforming the health and wellbeing of people’s lives in Qatar.
- Sidra MedicineSidra Medicine is a state-of-the-art facility committed to providing women and children in Qatar with world-class tertiary healthcare services.
The following centers are related to scientific research in Qatar.
- Biomedical Research Center - QUThe QURBC serves to enhance and advance biomedical research at Qatar University using expertise from the College of Health Science programs, the College of Arts & Science and other colleges.
- Center for Sustainable DevelopmentThe center offers a platform to conduct high-quality research on priority issues, thereby advancing the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in Qatar.
- Department of Chemistry and Earth Sciences - Qatar UniversityThe Department of Chemistry and Earth Sciences is focused on research in line with the vision of Qatar University and the national priorities.
- Department of Biological & Environmental Sciences - Qatar UniversityThe Department of Biological & Environmental Sciences was created in Spring1999 with the amalgamation of the zoology and botany departments.
- Environmental Science CenterThe ESC at Qatar University has a long history of fundamental and applied research, consultancy and national capacity building since its early inception.
- Qatar BiobankQatar Biobank, a long-term health initiative to reduce the number of chronic illnesses in the population and improve the health of future generations through medical research on the causes of prevalent illnesses.
- Qatar Biomedical Research Institute - QBRIQBRI is a leading research institute under Hamad Bin Khalifa University (HBKU), which aims to improve and transform healthcare through scientific innovation for the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases affecting the Qatari population.
- Qatar National Research Fund - QNRFQNRF provides research funding opportunities in the academic, public and private sectors through various funding programs targeting specific research groups.
Recommended Books
Plants of the Qur'anic Botanic Garden
This book is an effort to trace the etymological roots of the names of these plants and to provide readers with scientific information about them. The Qur’anic Botanic Garden has succeeded in developing taxonomy of these plants dividing them into three categories according to their natural habitats.
Recommended Journals
Karger Journals
Karger Journals provides access to more than 100 full-text medical and scientific e-journals.
Al Manhal Journals
Al Manhal is a leading database that provides a unique opportunity to all QNL users to access Arabic ebooks, full text of peer-reviewed eJournals, and thousands of full-text dissertations & theses from the Arab world's leading universities, research centers and scientific societies.