Creative Writing : Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of eJournals titles.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches.
Recommended search terms in Creative Writing:
Help is Here!
If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Creative Writing Guide!
This guide contains an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to creative writing, including books, online tools and resources to inform and inspire writers at any level.
Creative writing encompasses many genres and sub-genres, including novels, short stories, poetry, screenplays, creative nonfiction and more. There are myriad ways to explore and practice creative writing, a craft that can convey emotion, engage readers and offer new perspectives.
Writing Support
If you are looking for support or feedback on a writing project, you might want to join a writing group.
The Library's English Creative Writing Circle is led by award-winning writer Juliet Lovering. It is an opportunity for writers of any level of experience to meet with other writers, share projects, workshop ideas and exchange constructive feedback. The meetings are informal and supportive, and writing prompts and tasks are often given to inspire creativity.
Please contact writingstation@qnl.qa for more information about how to get involved, or check the Library Events Page.
You can also book a tailored one-on-one writing consultation at the Writing Station.
Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia Britannica Academic The Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition contains the online version of the standard encyclopedia, an Arabic translation tool, plus full-text journal and magazine articles and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
- Credo Credo is an online database has approximately 600 titles from 80+ publishers, covering the arts, medicine, psychology, history, technology and literature. It offers a mixed collection of reference resources such as general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Its platform aggregates content to provide researchers with a cross-searchable learning experience via its signature concept map.
Master Class in Fiction Writing: Techniques from Austen, Hemingway, and Other Greats by Call Number: PN3355 .S49 2006ISBN: 0071448772Publication Date: 2005-11-07
Penguin Rhyming Dictionary by Call Number: PE1519 1991bISBN: 9781849720038Publication Date: 1999-12-31The Complete Handbook of Novel Writing by
Call Number: PN3365 .C65 2010ISBN: 9781582979588Publication Date: 2010-08-22
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.