Law: Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Help is Here!
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Print Reference Sources
Human Rights Today - 60 Years of the Universal Declaration by
This three part book is a collection of updated papers, presented at the conference "Universal Declaration - 60 Years After," which was convened at the Faculty of Law, University of Belgrade, in September 2008. Issues in human rights law are critically assessed by a distinguished group of academics, researchers, and practitioners. The first section addresses general issues of human rights theory and practice, such as the relation of human rights politics and the international rule of law, the human rights claim to universality, the constitutionalization of international law through human rights instruments, as well as problems of human rights culture and/or ideology. The second section examines the role of domestic and international courts for the effective protection of human rights, as well as the specific techniques for implementation of human rights law. The final section is dedicated to developments, such as the growing importance of various forms of minority protection for the general body of human rights norms, as well as the role that human dignity as a prime constitutional value plays in certain legal systems. It also addresses widely debated challenges for human rights law: its status in times of war and in the global fight against terrorism.
Call Number: K3239.8 .H865 2010ISBN: 9789077596845Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Nonprofit Law Dictionary by
A focused, invaluable guide to nonprofit legal terminology and definitions The Bruce R. Hopkins Nonprofit Law Dictionary is a thorough professional reference for the terminology and definitions surrounding the law of tax-exempt organizations. Author Bruce R. Hopkins, the country's leading expert in nonprofit law, draws upon 45 years of practice to deliver a true dictionary reference for attorneys specializing in nonprofit law and tax law. The book's terminology and definitions are derived from constantly changing statutes, government agency regulations and rulings, court opinions, and government forms and instructions, with citations provided where appropriate. Modeled after a conventional dictionary, this book offers quick navigation to the information of interest, and points you toward the other Hopkins guides that provide more in-depth information should you require it. The devil is in the details, and nowhere is that statement truer than in the legal profession. Incorrect interpretation of a single phrase can cause consequences for both client and attorney, and verbiage may be intentionally vague with unexpectedly broad or narrow definitions. This guide gives you the most commonly accepted interpretations of terminology related specifically to nonprofit law, so you can feel confident in the quality of service you provide to your clients. Stay up to date on the latest in nonprofit law Confirm the accepted definitions of legal terms and phrases Learn where to turn for deeper guidance on specific topics Gain expert insight into obscure and complex definitions Stop spending time wading through textbooks and case law, only to wonder whether or not the information you eventually found applies to nonprofit law in the same way. Focused specifically on the law as it applies to the nonprofit sector, the Bruce R. Hopkins Nonprofit Law Dictionary is an indispensable reference that gives you the information you need quickly and easily.
Call Number: KF1388.A68 H665 2015ISBN: 9781118996089Publication Date: 2015-07-27
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Law Subject Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to law, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.
To view the Arabic guide, click here.
Law Science Print Collection
Most print titles you see in this guide are shelved or organized within the Class K of the Library of Congress Classification. Law-related titles are cataloged in the following call number ranges:
1K - Law in general. Comparative and uniform law. Jurisprudence
2 KB - Religious law in general. Comparative religious law. Jurisprudence
3 KD - United Kingdom
4 KE - Canada
5 KF - United States
6 KG - Latin America
7 KH - South America
8 KJ - Europe. History. Countries A-F
9 KK - Europe. Countries G-Z
10 KL - Asia and Eurasia. History. Countries (A-Z)
11 KM - Middle East
12 KN - South Asia. Southeast Asia. East Asia. Countries (A-J)
13 KP - South Asia. Southeast Asia. East Asia. Countries (K-Z)
14 KQ - Africa. History. Indigenous peoples. Countries (A-Ca)
15 KR - Africa Countries (Ce-Gi)
16 KS - Africa Countries (Gu - Niger)
17 KT - Africa Countries (Nigeria-Z)
18 KU - Australia. New Zealand
19 KV - Pacific Area Regional Laws. Countries (A-Ne)
20 KW - Pacific Area. Countries (Ni-Z). Antarctica
21 KZ - Law of Nations. Law of Seas. Law of Space
Reference Librarian
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.