Skip to main content
QNL Logo

Physics and Astronomy: Home

This guide on Physics and Astronomy includes recent books and eBooks, newspapers, journals and magazines, and primary source materials.

Getting Started

You have several ways to find information. Use the:

Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.

Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.

A-Z List of Titles to search for specific e-journals.

Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.

Help is Here!

Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need! 

Reference Sources

Welcome

Welcome to the Library's Physics and Astronomy Subject Guide!

This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to physics and astronomy, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.

Print Physics and Astronomy Collection

The print Physics and Astronomy collection is organized in alignment with the Library of Congress classification. It includes the following subclasses:

Subclass QB

QB1-991: Astronomy

QB1-139: General

QB140-237: Practical and spherical astronomy

QB275-343: Geodesy

QB349-421: Theoretical astronomy and celestial mechanics

QB455-456: Astrogeology

QB460-466: Astrophysics

QB468-480: Non-optical methods of astronomy

QB495-903: Descriptive astronomy

QB500.5-785: Solar System

QB799-903: Stars

QB980-991: Cosmogony, Cosmology

Subclass QC

QC1-999: Physics

QC1-75: General

QC81-114: Weights and measures

QC120-168.85: Descriptive and experimental mechanics

QC170-197: Atomic physics

QC221-246: Acoustics, Sound

QC251-338.5: Heat

QC310.15-319: Thermodynamics

QC350-467: Optics, Light

QC450-467: Spectroscopy

QC474-496.9: Radiation physics (general)

QC501-766: Electricity and magnetism

QC501-(721): Electricity

QC669-675.8: Electromagnetic theory

QC676-678.6: Radio waves (theory)

QC701-715.4: Electric discharge

QC717.6-718.8: Plasma physics, Ionized gasses

QC750-766: Magnetism

QC770-798: Nuclear and particle physics, Atomic energy, Radioactivity

QC793-793.5: Elementary particle physics

QC794.95-798: Radioactivity and radioactive substances

QC801-809: Geophysics, Cosmic physics

QC811-849: Geomagnetism

QC851-999: Meteorology, Climatology (including the Earth's atmosphere)

QC974.5-976: Meteorological optics

QC980-999: Climatology and weather

QC994.95-999: Weather forecasting

 


Reference Librarian

Sayeed Mohammed's picture
Sayeed Mohammed
Subjects الموضوعات:
Engineering الهندسة, Environmental Studies دراسات البيئة, Science العلوم

Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.

How to Register as a Library Member

Innovation Stations

Programs and Events

Feedback and Suggestions 

How Do I Cite a Source