Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
QNL Logo

Social Work: Home

Getting Started

You have several ways to find information. Use the:

Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.

Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.

A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.

Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.

Help is Here!

Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need! 

Welcome

Welcome to the Library's Social Work Subject Guide!

This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to social work including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms. 

Social work is a practice-based profession and an academic discipline that promotes social change and development, social cohesion, and the empowerment and liberation of people. Principles of social justice, human rights, collective responsibility and respect for diversity are central to social work. Underpinned by theories of social work, social sciences, humanities and indigenous knowledge, social work engages people and structures to address life challenges and enhance wellbeing.

To view the Arabic guide, click here

Social Work Print Collection

The social work print collection is organized in alignment with Class HV of the Library of Congress Classification. It includes the following subclasses:

Subclass HV - Social Service, Social Work. 

The social work print collection is located in Tier 2 of the Library. It spreads from shelf 2.5.1 upwards  (see map below).

Reference Librarian

Profile Photo
Eiman S. Al Shamari| إيمان الشمري
Subjects الموضوعات:
Arabic Fiction الروايات العربية, Library Science علوم المكتبات, Psychology علم النفس, Social Sciences العلوم الاجتماعية
Questions?
 

Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.

How to Register as a Library Member

Innovation Stations

Programs and Events

Feedback and Suggestions 

How Do I Cite a Source