Assistive Technology and People with Disabilities: Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of eJournals titles.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches.
Help is Here!
If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Introduction
Welcome to the Library's Assistive Technology and People with Disabilities Subject Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to people with disabilities, including databases, books, journals, reference materials, braille and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.
Our Assistive Technology team has curated an extensive collection of materials for people with disabilities, such as large print , audio books and braille books. We also provide the technology, equipment and software to help you access these resources and materials, including scanning pens with headphones, portable electronic magnifiers and a braille printer.
Print Collection Related to People with Disabilities and Assistive Technology
The people with disability print collection is organized in alignment with Class HV of the Library of Congress Classification.
HV 1551 - 3024
People with disabilities; including blind, deaf
People with physical and mental disabilities
Self-help devices for people with disabilities
Assistive technology
The print collection on people with disabilities is located in Tier 2 of the Library on shelf 2.5.2B (see map below).
Reference Sources
Assistive Technology in Special Education, 2E by Call Number: HV1568 .G74 2014ISBN: 9781618210845Publication Date: 2013-12-01
Assistive Augmentation by Call Number: HV1569.5 .A875 2018ISBN: 9789811064029Publication Date: 2017-11-21
Disability, Human Rights, and Information Technology by Call Number: HM851 .D57 2017ISBN: 9780812249231Publication Date: 2017-06-22
Recent Advances in Assistive Technologies to Support Children with Developmental Disorders by Call Number: HV1569.5 .R43 2015ISBN: 9781466683952Publication Date: 2015-05-31
Enhancing the Human Experience Through Assistive Technologies and E-Accessibility by Call Number: HV1569.5 .K676 2014ISBN: 9781466661301Publication Date: 2014-06-30
Disability and New Media by Call Number: HV1569.5 .E45 2011ISBN: 9780415871358Publication Date: 2010-12-20
The Guide to Assisting Students with Disabilities by Call Number: HV3023.A3 G85 2016ISBN: 9780826123749Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Representing Youth with Disability on Television by Call Number: HV1779 .R46 2016ISBN: 9781433132513Publication Date: 2016-02-28
Disability and the Media by Call Number: HV1568 .E4453 2015ISBN: 9780230293205Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Reference Librarian
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.