Career and Job Guide: Home
Getting Started
How to choose your career path and secure a job:
Step 1: Identify your skills and interests by taking a self-assessment test.
Step 2: Explore your career options by doing some research.
Step 3: Get professional training and enroll in classes before seeking out jobs.
Step 4: Create a list of companies and organizations in your chosen industry.
Step 5: Collate specific information about each company and organization, including their contact details.
Step 6: Create a resume tailored to your chosen company/organization and improve your interview skills by researching tips and techniques.
Step 7: Start applying for jobs.
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Help is here!
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Career and Job Subject Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials relating to careers and employment, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms that help you navigate the best research sources and strategies for exploration and success in your future career.
This guide includes resources for careers, education, organizations, interviwing tips, courses and policies.
Print Books in the Library
Qatar National Library uses the Library of Congress classification system. Careers and job books are available in the Z and H sections:
Z: Book industries and trade, libraries and bibliography.
ZA: Information resources (General)
For more details, visit the Library of Congress website to explore Z subjects.
Please see the below map for the H section in Qatar National Library:
H: Social Sciences (General)
HA: Statistics
HB: Economic theory, demography
HC: Economic history and conditions
HD: Industries, land use, labor
HE: Transportation, communications
HF: Commerce
HG: Finance
HJ: Public finance
For more details, please visit the Library of Congress website to explore H subjects.
Career and Jobs Events At QNL
If you’d like to craft professional emails, CVs, resumes or application letters, please consult the Technical Writing Guide.
If you’re having difficulty creating your CV, we’re hosting a series of events to help. Please register for our upcoming program,
Career Launchpad
Feel free to revisit our 2022 workshop:
Tips for Writing Successful CVs
Local Career Events
Every year, universities and institutes hold careers fairs that offer students and recent graduates a range of career opportunities as well as the chance to develop their networking skills.
Ask Us (Hidden, don't delete.)
(Permanent box, please do not edit this.) Quick Links
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.