Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is a small selection of available print books. For more books, search the catalog.
The Geography of Small Islands by
Call Number: GB471 .R38 2018
Publication Date: 2018-02-07
this book study the islands and their role in a globalised world. It drow a bridge between natural, social and cultural science perspectives. and helps to learn about the physical development of islands, their cultural and political importance, as well as their economic particularities.
GIS and Geocomputation for Water Resource Science and Engineering by
Call Number: TC413 .D59 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-08
The book uses a hands-on active learning approach to introduce fundamental concepts and numerous case-studies are provided to reinforce learning and demonstrate practical aspects. The benefits and challenges of using GIS in environmental and water resources fields are clearly tackled in this book, demonstrating how these technologies can be used to harness increasingly available digital data to develop spatially-oriented sustainable solutions. In addition to providing a strong grounding on fundamentals, the book also demonstrates how GIS can be combined with traditional physics-based and statistical models as well as information-theoretic tools like neural networks and fuzzy set theory.
GIS and the Social Sciences by
Call Number: G70.212 .B35 2018
Publication Date: 2017-09-21
GIS and the Social Sciences offers a uniquely social science approach on the theory and application of GIS with a range of modern examples. It explores how human geography can engage with a variety of important policy issues through linking together GIS and spatial analysis, and demonstrates the importance of applied GIS and spatial analysis for solving real-world problems in both the public and private sector.
GIS Technology Applications in Environmental and Earth Sciences by
Call Number: GE45.R44 T53 2017
Publication Date: 2016-09-20
This book starts with an overview of GIS technology, what GIS technology is, what it can do, what software products are available, etc. Then, throughout the book, the author explains with many case studies, programs, maps, graphics, and 3D models how GIS and other related technologies can be used to automate mapping processes, collect, process, edit, store, manage, and share datasets, statistically analyze data, model, and visualize large datasets to understand patterns, trends, and relationships to make educated decisions. This book is an excellent resource for anyone who is interested in GIS and related technologies, geology, natural resource, and environmental science.
Great Maps by
Call Number: GA201 .B746 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
The world's finest maps explored and explained. From Ptolemy's world map to the Hereford's Mappa Mundi, through Mercator's map of the world to the latest maps of the Moon and Google Earth, Great Maps provides a fascinating overview of cartography through the ages. Revealing the stories behind 55 historical maps by analyzing graphic close-ups, Great Maps also profiles key cartographers and explorers to look why each map was commissioned, who it was for and how they influenced navigation, propaganda, power, art, and politics.
This is a small selection of available ebooks. For more ebooks, search the catalog.
Coastal Management by
Publication Date: 2018-11-19
Coastal Management: Global Challenges and Innovations focuses on the resulting problems faced by coastal areas in developing countries with a goal of helping create updated management and tactical approaches for researchers, field practitioners, planners and policymakers. This book gathers, compiles and interprets recent developments, starting from paleo-coastal climatic conditions, to current climatic conditions that influence coastal resources. Chapters included cover almost all aspects of coastal area management, including sustainability, coastal communities, hazards, ocean currents and environmental monitoring.
Corridor Ecology, Second Edition by
Publication Date: 2019-04-23
Migrating wildlife species across the globe face a dire predicament as their traditional migratory routes are cut off by human encroachment. Forced into smaller and smaller patches of habitat, they must compete more aggressively for dwindling food resources and territory. This is more than just an unfortunate side effect of human progress. As key species populations dwindle, ecosystems are losing resilience and face collapse, and along with them, the ecosystem services we depend on. The book also includes a discussion of corridors in the air for migrating flying species, from birds to bats, butterflies, and even plant propagules--a concept so new that a term to describe it has yet to be coined.
Earth's Climate Response to a Changing Sun by
Publication Date: 2020-11-04
For centuries, scientists have been fascinated by the role of the Sun in the Earth's climate system. Recent discoveries, outlined in this book, have gradually unveiled a complex picture, in which our variable Sun affects the climate variability via a number of subtle pathways, the implications of which are only now becoming clear. This handbook provides the scientifically curious, from undergraduate students to policy makers with a complete and accessible panorama of our present understanding of the Sun-climate connection.
Human Geography by
Publication Date: 2015-09-08
The book addresses early cultures, languages, religion, the rise of capitalism, and globalization as components of human geographical systems. Human Geography also explores developed and underdeveloped societies, population, political geography, urban geography, agriculture, manufacturing, and services.
The Planetary Ocean by
Publication Date: 2021-02-11
This book is a reference on regional oceanography updated with extensive results from the last twenty years. The presentation underscores the specificity of each ocean basin using a precise and global approach. Beginning with a brief historical context, it explains the interactions and the role of each ocean basin in the functioning of the planetary ocean. How do we recognize Antarctic Bottom Water in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean? What is the densest water mass? The warmest? Why doesn't dense water form in the largest ocean basin? What becomes of water that sinks in the Labrador Sea? Why does the ocean play such an important role in climate variations?
The Power of Geography by
Publication Date: 2014-01-23
This book illuminates the profound influence of geography on everyday life. Concentrating on the realm of social reproduction - gender, family, education, culture and tradition, race, ethnicity the contributors provide both an articulation of a theory of territory and reproduction and concrete empirical analyses of the evolution of social practices in particular places. At the core of the book's contribution is the concept of society as a 'time-space' fabric, upon which are engraved the processes of political, economic and socio-cultural life. A second distinctive feature of the book is its substantive focus on the relation between territory and social practice. Thirdly, it represents a significant step in the redefinition of the research agenda in human geography.
Ancient Geography by
Publication Date: 2015-08-27
Before Columbus there was Eratosthenes: 'inventor' of the discipline of geography as it is known today. There was Alexander the Great: the man who sought to reach the very ends of the known world and whose empire spanned three continents. And there was Strabo: author of the Geographica, a 17-volume encyclopaedia of geographical knowledge which expounded the definition, history and mathematics of geography. In this, the first major study of ancient geography and geographers to be published in English for over 60 years, Duane W. Roller offers a comprehensive account of these, and the many other, ancient pioneers and the frontiers that defined their world. Ranging from the Bronze Age to Late Antiquity, Ancient Geography: The Discovery of the World in Classical Greece and Rome is the definitive guide to how the triumphs and the errors of antiquity laid the foundations for millennia of voyaging and exploration.
Geography and the Classical World by
Publication Date: 2012-12-24
In the eighteenth century a new subject emerged that was to capture the interest and imagination of scholars and the educated public for the next 150 years. Called 'ancient geography' or 'classical geography', its focus was the geographical study of the ancient Mediterranean, in particular the worlds of ancient Greece and Rome. Geographers, explorers, classicists and historians all contributed to its rise, as it flourished in both Britain and America. Yet in the 1920s the subject began to decline, so that its story has been lost. This pioneering volume is the first full-length study to explore the emergence of classical geography and its role in both the geographical and classical traditions.
The Geography of Strabo by
Publication Date: 2014-05-29
The Geography of Strabo is the only surviving work of its type in Greek literature, and the major source for the history of Greek scholarship on geography and the formative processes of the earth. In addition, this lengthy and complex work contains a vast amount of information on other topics, including the journey of Alexander the Great, cultic history, the history of the eastern Mediterranean in the first century BC, and women's history.
A Historical and Topographical Guide to the Geography of Strabo by
Publication Date: 2018-01-11
Strabo's Geography, completed in the early first century AD, is the primary source for the history of Greek geography. This Guide provides the first English analysis of and commentary on this long and difficult text, and serves as a companion to the author's The Geography of Strabo, the first English translation of the work in many years. It thoroughly analyzes each of the seventeen books and provides perhaps the most thorough bibliography as yet created for Strabo's work. Careful attention is paid to the historical and cultural data, the thousands of toponyms, and the many lost historical sources that are preserved only in the Geography.
The Muqaddimah by
Call Number: DS36.85 .I26 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
The Muqaddimah, often translated as "Introduction" or "Prolegomenon," is the most important Islamic history of the premodern world. Written by the great fourteenth-century Arab scholar Ibn Khaldûn (d. 1406), this monumental work established the foundations of several fields of knowledge, including the philosophy of history, sociology, ethnography, and economics.
Our Heritage Library has many historic maps, including:
Great Maps by
Publication Date: 2014-08-18
The whole world is mapped out for your viewing pleasure in this captivating compendium, ranging from past to present through diverse themes of transport and technology to discoveries and development. Covering the classical maps of the ancient world and traveling through time to reach Google Earth in the 21st century, this unprecedented history of more than 60 maps opens up our planet as never before.