Mathematics: Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
Publication Finder to search for specific titles of eJournals, periodicals, series, eBooks, theses/dissertations, annual reports, and many more. Use this when you know exact publication title you are looking for. Note that if you are looking only for a specific article title or eBook chapter, use the Discovery Search.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Help is Here!
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Reference Sources
Use these reference titles for definitions, codes, topic overviews, and background information.
- Credo Credo is an online database has approximately 600 titles from 80+ publishers, covering the arts, medicine, psychology, history, technology and literature. It offers a mixed collection of reference resources such as general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Its platform aggregates content to provide researchers with a cross-searchable learning experience via its signature concept map.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Academic The Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition contains the online version of the standard encyclopedia, an Arabic translation tool, plus full-text journal and magazine articles and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
100 Years of Math Milestones by Call Number: QA27.U5 G37 2019ISBN: 9781470436520Publication Date: 2019-07-10
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics by Call Number: QA76.15 .E485 2012ISBN: 9780199235940Publication Date: 2009-06-07
Math Unlimited: Essays in Mathematics by Call Number: QA7 .M44425 2012ISBN: 9781578087044Publication Date: 2011-11-11
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Mathematics Subject Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to mathematics, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.
Mathematics is the primary language spoken in science, logic, computer, architecture, agriculture, economics, astronomy, electronics, statistics, physics, navigation, and more. No single science or a branch of knowledge can exist without mathematics. This guide provides an overview of The Library's recommended databases, books, journals, reference and other resources, printed and electronic, that are accessible through the Library and other free online sources on topics related to mathematics.
Mathematics Print Collection
The print mathematics collection is organized in alignment with Class QA of the Library of Congress Classification. It includes the following subclasses:
QA1-43 - General
QA47-59 - Tables
QA71-90 - Instruments and machines
QA101-(145) - Elementary Mathematics, Arithmetic
QA150-272.5 - Algebra
QA273-280 - Probabilities, Mathematical Statistics
QA299.6-433 - Analysis
QA440-699 - Geometry, Trigonometry, Topology
QA801-939 - Analytic Mechanics
The print mathematics collection is located in Tier 1 of the Library. It spreads from shelf 1.1.21A to shelf 1.4.8A (see map below).
Reference Librarian
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.