Music: Find Books
Print Books
This is a small selection of available print books. For more titles, search our catalog. See the Library of Congress Classification Outline for a complete overview of the classification used to organize the print book collection.
A Guide to Library Research in Music by
A Guide to Library Research in Music introduces the process and techniques for researching and writing about music. It provides examples of different types of writing; offers a thorough introduction to music literature; describes various information-searching methods and library-based organizational systems; and explores the wide array of music resources. The textbook is organized into three parts, allowing for three independent tracks of study. Part 1 treats essentials of the research process, explaining starting-point resources such as library catalogs, dictionaries, and bibliographies; addresses scholarly documentation, the use of style manuals, and basics of copyright. Part 2 develops skills and strategies for library- and Internet-based research, describing database structures and library catalogs, subject searching in catalogs and journal indexes, keyword searching techniques, related-record searching and citation databases, and the use of experts and thematic catalogs. Part 3 discusses the organization of a music library, emphasizing score collections, books and journals in music literature, and music teaching publications. Features include: -End of chapter exercises to aid concept application and skill development. -Appendices of shortcuts to specifics topics in library organizational systems, including Library of Congress Subject Headings and Classification. -Bibliography of music literature and resources, especially electronic and print publications since 2000. New to this edition: -Notes on the latest innovations in library catalog searching, new matters in digital technology, and the expansion in musical genres for library research.
ISBN: 9781538113387Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Teaching Music Appreciation Online by
In this book, readers will learn practical tips and strategies to teach music appreciation online. As online education is a growing field, an increasing number of teachers trained in traditional/live methods find themselves now teaching online and potentially without mentors to assist them.Students are also changing, seeking highly engaged, relevant, and interactive learning opportunities that connect to their lives. Here, readers will find helpful guidance in planning curriculum, integrating multimedia assets, designing forum discussions, developing assignments, preparing rubrics,engaging in forum discussions, preparing, managing, and teaching, the course, providing feedback and grading, and following up with struggling and challenging students. The book can serve as a resource to those already teaching music appreciation online or as a comprehensive guide to those new tothe field. Additionally, it may serve as a resource to instructors in other disciplines who seek to shift live-courses to the online format, as well as music appreciation instructors who would like to integrate digital or online components into traditional face-to-face courses. The book is organizedinto five major sections, designed to guide the novice online educator in depth while also appealing to the seasoned veteran through the ability to review each section as a stand-alone resource. Although some readers will desire to read from cover to cover, they will also be able to move in anon-linear manner from chapter to chapter, using chapters in modular form, in order to benefit from the sections that most apply to them at any given time.
ISBN: 9780190698379Publication Date: 2020
Children of the Stone by
It is an unlikely story. Ramzi Hussein Aburedwan, a child from a Palestinian refugee camp, confronts an occupying army, gets an education, masters an instrument, dreams of something much bigger than himself, and then, through his charisma and persistence, inspires scores of others to work with him to make that dream real. Children of the Stone chronicles Ramzi's journey--from stone thrower to music student to school founder--and shows how through his love of music he created something lasting and beautiful in a land torn by violence and war. This is a story about the power of music, first, but also about freedom and conflict, determination and vision.
ISBN: 9781608198139Publication Date: 2015-04-07
Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! by
As much fun to argue with as to quote, Yeah! Yeah! Yeah! is a monumental work of musical history, tracing the story of pop music through individual songs, bands, musical scenes, and styles from Bill Haley and the Comets' "Rock around the Clock" (1954) to Beyoncé's first megahit, "Crazy in Love" (2003). It covers the birth of rock, soul, R&B, punk, hip hop, indie, house, techno, and more, and it will remind you why you fell in love with pop music in the first place.
ISBN: 9780393242690Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Capturing Music by
In today's digital landscape, we have the luxury of experiencing music anytime, anywhere. But before this instant accessibility and dizzying array of formats--before CDs, the eight-track tape, the radio, and the turntable--there was only one recording technology: music notation. It allowed singers and soloists to travel across great distances and perform their work with stunning fidelity, a feat that we now very much take for granted. Thomas Forrest Kelly transports us to the lively and complex world of monks and monasteries, of a dove singing holy chants into the ear of a saint, and of bustling activity in the Cathedral of Notre Dame--an era when the only way to share even the simplest song was to learn it by rote, church to church and person to person.
Call Number: ML431 .K45 2015ISBN: 9780393064964Publication Date: 2014-11-03
Inside Arabic Music by
What makes hundreds of listeners cheer ecstatically at the same instant during a live concert by Egyptian diva Umm Kulthum? What is the unspoken language behind a taqsim (traditional instrumental improvisation) that performers and listeners implicitly know? How can Arabic music be so rich anddiverse without resorting to harmony? Why is it so challenging to transcribe Arabic music from a recording? Inside Arabic Music answers these and many other questions from the perspective of two "insiders" to the practice of Arabic music, by documenting a performance culture and a know-how that islargely passed on orally.Arabic music has spread across the globe, influencing music from Greece all the way to India in the mid-20th century through radio and musical cinema, and global popular culture through Raqs Sharqi, known as "Bellydance" in the West. Yet despite its popularity and influence, Arabic music, and themaqam scale system at its heart, remain widely misunderstood. Inside Arabic Music de-mystifies maqam with an approach that draws theory directly from practice, and presents theoretical insights that will be useful to practitioners, from the beginner to the expert - as well as those interested in therelated Persian, Central Asian, and Turkish makam traditions. Inside Arabic Music's discussion of maqam and improvisation widens general understanding of music as well, by bringing in ideas from Saussurean linguistics, network theory, and Lakoff and Johnson's theory of cognition as metaphor, with anapproach parallel to Gjerdingen's analysis of Galant-period music - offering a lens into the deeper relationships among music, culture, and human community.
ISBN: 9780190658359Publication Date: 2019-08-15
Ebooks
This is a small selection of available eBooks. For more titles, search our catalog.
Music Therapy: Research and Evidence-Based Practice by
Get a quick, expert overview of the clinical and evidence-based use of music interventions in health care. This practical resource compiled by Dr. Olivia Swedberg Yinger provides a concise, useful overview of the profession of music therapy, including a description of each of the research-support practices that occur in the settings where music therapists most commonly work. Features a wealth of information on music therapy and its relevance in education settings, mental health treatment, medical treatment and rehabilitation, hospice and palliative care, gerontology, and wellness. Includes a chapter on current trends and future directions in music therapy Consolidates today's available information and guidance in this timely area into one convenient resource.
ISBN: 9780323485609Publication Date: 2017-09-28
Music and Translation by
This book explores how transformations and translations shape musical meanings, developments and the perception of music across cultures. Starting with the concept of music as multimodal text, the author understands translation as the process of transferring a text from one language - verbal or not - into another, interlingually, intralingually or intersemiotically, as well as the products that are derived from this process. She situates music and translation within their contemporary global context, examining the tensions between local and global, cosmopolitan and national, and universal and specific settings, to arrive at a celebration of the translational power of music and an in-depth study of how musical texts are translated. This book will be of interest to translation studies scholars who want to broaden their horizons, as well as to musicians and music scholars seeking to understand how cultural exchange and dissemination can be driven by translation.
ISBN: 9781137549648Publication Date: 2019-06-14
The Science of Music by
In this engaging title, young readers learn about the form of energy that is sound! Sound waves and their wavelengths are discussed, as are the vibrations of molecules, acoustics, and how the ear interprets sound. These properties are illustrated by the making and hearing of music. Colorful infographics make decibels, amplitude, frequency, and ear anatomy easily accessible, and prominent contributors such as Ludwig van Beethoven are featured. A fun experiment with vibrations brings the science of sound to life! Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
ISBN: 1624039626Publication Date: 2015-12-15
The Late Starters Orchestra by
In a cluttered room in an abandoned coat factory in lower Manhattan, a group of musicians comes together each week to make music. Some are old, some are young, all have come late to music or come back to it after a long absence. This is the Late Starters Orchestra--the bona fide amateur string orchestra where Ari Goldman pursues his lifelong dream of playing the cello. Goldman hadn't seriously picked up his cello in twenty-five years, but the Late Starters (its motto, If you think you can play, you can) seemed just the right orchestra for this music lover whose busy life had always gotten in the way of its pursuit.
ISBN: 9781565129924Publication Date: 2014-06-10
The Ninth by
The premier of Beethoven's Ninth Symphony in Vienna on May 7, 1824, was the most significant artistic event of the year--and the work remains one of the most precedent-shattering and influential compositions in the history of music. Described in vibrant detail by eminent musicologist Harvey Sachs, this symbol of freedom and joy was so unorthodox that it amazed and confused listeners at its unveiling--yet it became a standard for subsequent generations of creative artists, and its composer came to embody the Romantic cult of genius.
ISBN: 9780812969078Publication Date: 2011-11-08
Music by
Learn how STEAM subjects are involved in making music. Includes experiments, activities and other resources. This title supports NGSS for Waves and Their Applications in Technologies for Information Transfer
ISBN: 9781641564632Publication Date: 2018-07-01
This Is Your Brain on Music by
Ever wondered why you can identify your favourite song from hearing only the first two notes? Or why you can't get that annoying jingle out of your head? Daniel Levitin's breathtaking - and wholly accessible - book, now published as an ebook, explains why. This is the first book to offer a comprehensive explanation of how humans experience music and to unravel the mystery of our perennial love affair with it. Using musical examples from Bach to the Beatles, Levitin reveals the role of music in human evolution, shows how our musical preferences begin to form even before we are born and explains why music can offer such an emotional experience. Music is an obsession at the heart of human nature, even more fundamental to our species than language. In This Is Your Brain On Music Levitin offers nothing less than a new way to understand it, and its role in human life.
ISBN: 9780857895141Publication Date: 2011-07-01
The African Imagination in Music by
The world of Sub-Saharan African music is immensely rich and diverse, containing a plethora of repertoires and traditions. In The African Imagination in Music, renowned music scholar Kofi Agawu offers an introduction to the major dimensions of this music and the values upon which it rests.Agawu leads his readers through an exploration of the traditions, structural elements, instruments, and performative techniques that characterize the music. In sections that focus upon rhythm, melody, form, and harmony, the essential parts of African music come into relief. While traditional music,the backbone of Africa's musical thinking, receives the most attention, Agawu also supplies insights into popular and art music in order to demonstrate the breadth of the African musical imagination. Close readings of a variety of songs, including an Ewe dirge, an Aka children's song, and Fela's'Suffering and Smiling' supplement the broader discussion.The African Imagination in Music foregrounds a hitherto under-reported legacy of recordings and insists on the necessity of experiencing music as sound in order to appreciate and understand it fully. Accordingly, a Companion Website features important examples of the music discussed in detail in thebook. Accessibly and engagingly written for a general audience, The African Imagination in Music is poised to renew interest in Black African music and to engender discussion of its creative underpinnings by Africanists, ethnomusicologists, music theorists and musicologists.
ISBN: 9780190263201Publication Date: 2016-03-02
Out of Time by
What does music have to say about modernity? How can this apparently unworldly art tell us anything about modern life?In Out of Time, author Julian Johnson begins from the idea that it can, arguing that music renders an account of modernity from the inside, a history not of events but of sensibility, an archaeology of experience. If music is better understood from this broad perspective, our idea of modernityitself is also enriched by the specific insights of music. The result is a rehearing of modernity and a rethinking of music - an account that challenges ideas of linear progress and reconsiders the common concerns of music, old and new.If all music since 1600 is modern music, the similarities between Monteverdi and Schoenberg, Bach and Stravinsky, or Beethoven and Boulez, become far more significant than their obvious differences. Johnson elaborates this idea in relation to three related areas of experience - temporality, historyand memory; space, place and technology; language, the body, and sound. Criss-crossing four centuries of Western culture, he moves between close readings of diverse musical examples (from the madrigal to electronic music) and drawing on the history of science and technology, literature, art,philosophy, and geography. Against the grain of chronology and the usual divisions of music history, Johnson proposes profound connections between musical works from quite different times and places. The multiple lines of the resulting map, similar to those of the London Underground, produce abewildering network of plural connections, joining Stockhausen to Galileo, music printing to sound recording, the industrial revolution to motivic development, steam trains to waltzes.A significant and groundbreaking work, Out of Time is essential reading for anyone interested in the history of music and modernity.
ISBN: 9780190233273Publication Date: 2015-03-31
Audiobooks
This is a small selection of available audiobooks. For more titles, search the OverDrive.
Broken Horses by
The critically acclaimed singer-songwriter, producer, and five-time Grammy winner opens up about a life shaped by music in this candid, heartfelt, and intimate story. #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER . The critically acclaimed singer-songwriter, producer, and six-time Grammy winner opens up about faith, sexuality, parenthood, and a life shaped by music in "one of the great memoirs of our time" (Glennon Doyle, author of Untamed). "The best-written, most engaging rock autobiography since her childhood hero, Elton John, published Me."-Variety Brandi Carlile was born into a musically gifted, impoverished family on the outskirts of Seattle and grew up in a constant state of change, moving from house to house, trailer to trailer, fourteen times in as many years. Though imperfect in every way, her dysfunctional childhood was as beautiful as it was strange, and as nurturing as it was difficult. At the age of five, Brandi contracted bacterial meningitis, which almost took her life, leaving an indelible mark on her formative years and altering her journey into young adulthood. As an openly gay teenager, Brandi grappled with the tension between her sexuality and her faith when her pastor publicly refused to baptize her on the day of the ceremony. Shockingly, her small town rallied around Brandi in support and set her on a path to salvation where the rest of the misfits and rejects find it- through twisted, joyful, weird, and wonderful music. In Broken Horses, Brandi Carlile takes readers through the events of her life that shaped her very raw art-from her start at a local singing competition where she performed Elton John's "Honky Cat" in a bedazzled white polyester suit, to her first break opening for Dave Matthews Band, to many sleepless tours over fifteen years and six studio albums, all while raising two children with her wife, Catherine Shepherd. This hard-won success led her to collaborations with personal heroes like Elton John, Dolly Parton, Mavis Staples, Pearl Jam, Tanya Tucker, and Joni Mitchell, as well as her peers in the supergroup The Highwomen, and ultimately to the Grammy stage, where she converted millions of viewers into instant fans. Evocative and piercingly honest, Broken Horses is at once an examination of faith through the eyes of a person rejected by the church's basic tenets and a meditation on the moments and lyrics that have shaped the life of a creative mind, a brilliant artist, and a genuine empath on a mission to give back.
ISBN: 9780593237243Publication Date: 2021-04-06
The Pianist from Syria by
An astonishing but true account of a pianist's escape from war-torn Syria to Germany offers a deeply personal perspective on the most devastating refugee crisis of this century. Heart-wrenching yet ultimately full of hope, and told in a raw and poignant voice, The Pianist from Syria is a gripping portrait of one man's search for a peaceful life for his family and of a country being torn apart as the world watches in horror.
ISBN: 9781501173493Publication Date: 2019-02-12
More Myself by
An intimate, revealing look at one artist's journey from self-censorship to full expression As one of the most celebrated musicians in the world, Alicia Keys has enraptured the globe with her heartfelt lyrics, extraordinary vocal range, and soul-stirring piano compositions. Yet away from the spotlight, Alicia has grappled with private heartache--over the challenging and complex relationship with her father, the people-pleasing nature that characterized her early career, the loss of privacy surrounding her romantic relationships, and the oppressive expectations of female perfection. Since Alicia rose to fame, her public persona has belied a deep personal truth: she has spent years not fully recognizing or honoring her own worth. After withholding parts of herself for so long, she is at last exploring the questions that live at the heart of her story: Who am I, really? And once I discover that truth, how can I become brave enough to embrace it? MoreMyself is part autobiography, part narrative documentary. Alicia's journey is revealed not only through her own candid recounting, but also through vivid recollections from those who have walked alongside her. The result is a 360-degree perspective on Alicia's path, from her girlhood in Hell's Kitchen and Harlem to the process of growth and self-discovery that we all must navigate. InMore Myself, Alicia shares her quest for truth--about herself, her past, and her shift from sacrificing her spirit to celebrating her worth. With the raw honesty that epitomizes Alicia's artistry,More Myselfis at once a riveting account and a clarion call to readers: to define themselves in a world that rarely encourages a true and unique identity.
ISBN: 1250153298Publication Date: 2020-03-31
Me by
BESTSELLER DEL NEW YORK TIMES La primera y única autobiografía de Elton John. Un retrato sincero, alegre y profundo del compositor y cantante con la más larga y exitosa trayectoria musical de la historia. Reginald Dwight, su verdadero nombre, fue un chico tímido con gafas a lo Buddy Holly que creció en Pinner, un pequeño municipio a las afueras de Londres, y soñaba en convertirse en una estrella del pop. Con solo veintitrés años dio su primer concierto en Estados Unidos, ante un público sorprendido por su insólito aspecto: un mono amarillo chillón, una camiseta estampada de estrellas y un par de botas aladas. Elton John había llegado y el mundo de la música jamás volvería a ser el mismo. Su vida está repleta de momentos dramáticos, desde el rechazo que sufrieron sus primeros trabajos con su colaborador y letrista Bernie Taupin hasta la locura que le envolvió cuando era una superestrella que dominaba las listas de ventas, pasando por su flirteo con el suicidio en la piscina de su residencia en Los Ángeles, por la noche en que bailó con la reina de Inglaterra en el castillo de Windsor, por su amistad con John Lennon, Freddie Mercury y George Michael, o por su decisión de montar una fundación contra el sida. Mientras tanto, Elton escondía una adicción que lo atrapó durante más de una década. En Yo, Elton también escribe de manera inspiradora sobre su proceso de rehabilitación y cómo cambió de vida, sobre cómo encontró el amor en los brazos de David Furnish y se convirtió en padre. Su voz en este libro es cálida, modesta y franca, y nos habla de su música y de las personas que entraron en su vida, de sus pasiones y de sus errores. Esta historia permanecerá contigo para siempre, de la mano de una leyenda viva. «Lo mejor del rock and roll es que alguien como yo puede convertirse en una estrella.» ENGLISH DESCRIPTION INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER In his first and only official autobiography, music icon Elton John reveals the truth about his extraordinary life, from his rollercoaster lifestyle as shown in the film Rocketman, to becoming a living legend. Christened Reginald Dwight, he was a shy boy with Buddy Holly glasses who grew up in the London suburb of Pinner and dreamed of becoming a pop star. By the age of twenty-three he was performing his first gig in America, facing an astonished audience in his bright yellow dungarees, a star-spangled T-shirt, and boots with wings. Elton John had arrived and the music world would never be the same again. His life has been full of drama, from the early rejection of his work with song-writing partner Bernie Taupin to spinning out of control as a chart-topping superstar; from half-heartedly trying to drown himself in his LA swimming pool to disco-dancing with Princess Diana and Queen Elizabeth; from friendships with John Lennon, Freddie Mercury, and George Michael to setting up his AIDS Foundation to conquering Broadway with Aida, The Lion King, and Billy Elliot the Musical. All the while Elton was hiding a drug addiction that would grip him for over a decade. In Me, Elton also writes powerfully about getting clean and changing his life, about finding love with David Furnish and becoming a father. In a voice that is warm, humble, and open, this is Elton on his music and his relationships, his passions and his mistakes. This is a story that will stay with you by a living legend.
ISBN: 8417511989Publication Date: 2020-01-21
The Rest Is Noise by
In this sweeping and dramatic narrative, Alex Ross, music critic forThe New Yorker, weaves together the histories of the twentieth century and its music, from Vienna before the First World War to Paris in the twenties; from Hitler's Germany and Stalin's Russia to downtown New York in the sixties and seventies up to the present. Taking readers into the labyrinth of modern style, Ross draws revelatory connections between the century's most influential composers and the wider culture.The Rest Is Noise is an astonishing history of the twentieth century as told through its music.
ISBN: 9780312427719Publication Date: 2008-10-14
Born to Run by
In 2009, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band performed at the Super Bowl’s halftime show. The experience was so exhilarating that Bruce decided to write about it. That’s how this extraordinary autobiography began. Over the past seven years, Bruce Springsteen has privately devoted himself to writing the story of his life, bringing to these pages the same honesty, humor, and originality found in his songs.
ISBN: 9781501141515Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Beastie Boys Book by
A panoramic experience that tells the story of Beastie Boys, a book as unique as the band itself--by band members ADROCK and Mike D, with contributions from Amy Poehler, Colson Whitehead, Spike Jonze, Wes Anderson, Luc Sante, and more.
ISBN: 9780812995541Publication Date: 2018-10-30
Daisy Jones and the Six by
A gripping novel about the whirlwind rise of an iconic 1970s rock group and their beautiful lead singer, revealing the mystery behind their infamous breakup.
ISBN: 9781524798628Publication Date: 2019-03-05
The Beautiful Ones
The brilliant coming-of-age-and-into-superstardom story of one of the greatest artists of all time, in his own words—featuring the exquisite memoir he began writing before his tragic death
Prince was a musical genius, one of the most beloved, accomplished, and acclaimed musicians of our time. He was a startlingly original visionary with an imagination deep enough to whip up whole worlds, from the sexy, gritty funk paradise of “Uptown” to the mythical landscape of Purple Rain to the psychedelia of “Paisley Park.” But his most ambitious creative act was turning Prince Rogers Nelson, born in Minnesota, into Prince, one of the greatest pop stars of any era.
The Beautiful Ones is the story of how Prince became Prince—a first-person account of a kid absorbing the world around him and then creating a persona, an artistic vision, and a life, before the hits and fame that would come to define him. The audiobook is told in four parts. The first is the memoir Prince was writing before his tragic death, pages that bring us into his childhood world through his own lyrical prose. The second part takes us through Prince’s early years as a musician, before his first album was released, via an evocative scrapbook of writing. The third section shows us Prince’s evolution, going up to the cusp of his greatest achievement, which we see in the audiobook’s fourth section: his original treatment for Purple Rain—the final stage in Prince’s self-creation, where he retells the autobiography of the first three parts as a heroic journey.
The audiobook is framed by editor Dan Piepenbring’s riveting and moving introduction about his profound collaboration with Prince in his final months—a time when Prince was thinking deeply about how to reveal more of himself and his ideas to the world, while retaining the mystery and mystique he’d so carefully cultivated.
This work is not just a tribute to an icon, but an original and energizing literary work in its own right, full of Prince’s ideas and vision, his voice and image—his undying gift to the world.
Includes a bonus PDF featuring never-before-seen photos and original scrapbooks & lyric sheets
ISBN: 9781780899176Publication Date: 29-10-2019
