Music: Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
Publication Finder to search for specific titles of e-journals, periodicals, series, ebooks, theses/dissertations, annual reports, and many more. Use this when you know the exact publication title you are looking for. Please note that if you are looking for a specific article title, use the Discovery Search.
A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches.
Recommended search terms in Music:
Help is here!
If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Reference Sources
The Oxford Dictionary of Music by
With over 10,000 entries, the Oxford Dictionary of Music offers broad coverage of a wide range of musical categories spanning many eras, including composers, librettists, singers, orchestras, important ballets and operas, and musical instruments and their history.
ISBN: 9780199578108Publication Date: 2012-10-01
New Penguin Dictionary of Music by
The New Penguin Dictionary of Musicis the essential A - Z of some 1,000 years of Western music. It explores in detail the lives and achievements of a huge range of composers, and examines such key topics as music history (from medieval plainchant to contemporary minimalism), performers, theory and jargon.
ISBN: 9780141009254Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Dictionary of Musical Terms in Four Languages by
Musicians and music lovers almost certainly find themselves faced with completely unknown foreign-language terms from time to time. Dictionary of Musical Terms in Four Languages is the most comprehensive answer that problem, with more than 4000 musical terms presented in English, Italian, French and German.
ISBN: 9783795780760Publication Date: 2015-03-01- The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music (Electronic Resource) by A guide to the thousands of characters, who people the history of music, this volume brings together all the biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. A companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, this biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with care devoted to coverage of the 20th century.ISBN: 0674372999Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Online Reference Sources
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Music Subject Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to music, including musical recordings, databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources - print or digital - that are accessible through different websites and platforms. For information about the available music instruments and equipment at the Library and resources about learning to play music instruments, please see the Know More About the Library's Music Studio Guide.
Music Print Collection
The print music collection is organized in alignment with Class M of the Library of Congress Classification. It includes the following subclasses:
Subclass M: Music
Subclass ML: Literature on music
Subclass MT: Instruction and study
The print music collection is located in Tier 2 of the Library. It spreads from shelf 2.2.6A to shelf 2.1.6B (see map below) .
Reference Librarian
Popular Fiction الروايات الأكثر شيوعاً
Language and Literature اللغات والآداب
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.