Get Started with Research: Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
Publication Finder to search for specific titles of e-journals, periodicals, series, ebooks, theses/dissertations, annual reports, and many more. Use this when you know exact the publication title you are looking for. Note that if you are looking for a specific article title, use the Discovery Search.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Help is here!
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia Britannica Academic The Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition contains the online version of the standard encyclopedia, an Arabic translation tool, plus full-text journal and magazine articles and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
- Credo Credo is an online database has approximately 600 titles from 80+ publishers, covering the arts, medicine, psychology, history, technology and literature. It offers a mixed collection of reference resources such as general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Its platform aggregates content to provide researchers with a cross-searchable learning experience via its signature concept map.
SAGE Quantitative Research Methods by Call Number: H62 .S24 2011 1ISBN: 9781848606999Publication Date: 2011-02-09
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by Call Number: H62 .H2455 2011ISBN: 9781412974172Publication Date: 2011-04-27
The SAGE Handbook of Research Management by Call Number: Q180.55.M3 S24 2015ISBN: 9781446203187Publication Date: 2015-10-29
The Craft of Research by Call Number: Q180.55.M4 B66 2016ISBN: 9780226239569Publication Date: 2016-10-19
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Get Started with Research Subject Guide!
This research guide encompasses a range of ideas, starting from idea conception to development through literature review, formulating research questions, data collection and data analysis, and writing your thesis or research report. This guide also provides an overview of the Library's recommended databases, books, journals, reference and other resources - print and electronic - that are accessible through the Library, and other free online sources on topics related to research.
Doing Research and Doing Well
Research: Where to Begin
Research is not just a geeky person in a white lab coat and big glasses figuring out something about the universe. Everyone does research, even if it's just finding out whether a product is good for our health or has good reviews. But conducting research on a specific subject requires discipline, methodological rigor, objectivity, communication, etc.
Choosing and Narrowing Your Research Topic
Before we conduct our research, it is important to choose a topic, narrow the research questions, and find out whether this research has already done by someone else. If so, is there new information you can add or can you provide a new perspective or a different theoretical framework? One topic can be looked at in multiple ways.
The research process happens in a linear way,
You can find a lot of information on conducting research here
What kind of research methods do you want to use? Confused? This link will help you (use your Library membership to log in).
If you have collected data through surveys but don't know which statistical test to use, you can use this link (use your Library membership to log in).
Reference Librarian
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.