Search for Theses and Dissertations: Home
Useful Guides
Here are some guides you may find useful when citing your sources, writing your thesis or dissertation, or simply doing a research for an article or book.
-
Cite a Source
by Lynne Fraser| لين فريسر Last Updated Oct 21, 2021 155 views this year
-
Get Started with Research
by Sayeed Mohammed| سعيد محمد Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 371 views this year
-
Search for Academic Articles
by Rana A. Abdulrahman| رنا العاني Last Updated Oct 3, 2022 143 views this year
Do you want to have a one-on-one consultation with our Senior English Writing Specialist? Click here.
- ProQuest LibGuidesProQuest LibGuides offers more information and links to webinars and resources from ProQuest.
Interlending and Document Supply Service
If you are unable to find the full-text copy of the title that you are looking for, you can use our Interlending and Document Supply Service.
Resources to Find Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes over 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format and nearly 3 million searchable citations from around the world from 1743 to the present day.
To access titles in Arabic, use the suggested databases below:
- Al Manhal Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Al Manhal is a leading database that provides a unique opportunity to all QNL users to access Arabic ebooks, full text of peer-reviewed eJournals, and thousands of full-text dissertations & theses from the Arab world's leading universities, research centers and scientific societies. Al Manhal also provides you with the Middle East Strategic Studies Online (MESSO), which is the most comprehensive source for research, intelligence and analysis in Middle East affairs.
- Al Manhal eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Al Manhal is a leading database that provides a unique opportunity to all QNL users to access Arabic ebooks, full text of peer-reviewed eJournals, and thousands of full-text dissertations & theses from the Arab world's leading universities, research centers and scientific societies. Al Manhal also provides you with the Middle East Strategic Studies Online (MESSO), which is the most comprehensive source for research, intelligence and analysis in Middle East affairs.
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to Arabic language dissertations and theses in all academic disciplines from various Arab universities. The platform covers more than 70,000 titles, with more than 30,000 in full text. - e-Marefa Arab Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new windowThis e-Marefa database contains more than 25,000 theses and dissertations published in the Arab World, as well as 6,500 Arabic reviews of international theses.
These are supplementary sources you may want to consider browsing when looking for titles in the disciplines or fields specified. You may opt to use the Interlending and Document Supply Service should you need the full-text copy of an abstract.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library that includes theses that support agricultural research. - Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MECAS is a bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly communication on the countries and people of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa. MECAS combines sources from these databases: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database.
Access to these sources does not require Library login credentials.
- American Doctoral DissertationsFree and full text access to dissertations and thesis that were published in the U.S.
- Open Access Thesis and DissertationsOATD allows you to search and find for the open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. OATD currently indexes 4.5 million thesis and dissertations
- Registry of Open Access RepositoriesA listing of open access repositories for electronic theses and dissertations. May be further limited by country and software type.
Ways of Searching for a Title
- Use the Library's advanced catalog search.
- Choose "Theses" under Format.
- You can also specify other fields such as Language, Location or Collection.
- If your result is located outside the Library, you can request it through ILDS if it is a journal article or you can directly contact the institution where the resource is located.
If you are searching within a specific database, you can apply the same techniques as when you are searching the Library's catalog:
- Click "Online Resources" on the Library's website and choose the database that you would like to explore (in the following example, we will be covering the ProQuest database).
- Switch to "Dissertations and Theses" at the top of the search bar.
- Enter the keyword(s) for your search.
- Check the results and narrow them down by adding filters on the left side.
In order to find a thesis or a dissertation, you can also use the EBSCO Discovery Service through the Library.
In order to search within the EBSCO Discovery Service:
- Use the keyword selector and enter your keyword(s) in the search box.
- In the "Material Type" tab, select "Dissertations and Thesis."
- Narrow down your search by using the filters located on the left side.
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.