FIFA World Cup 2022: Home
About This Guide
Welcome to the Library's FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 guide!
In 2010, Qatar won the bid to host the FIFA® World Cup 2022, the first time the tournament will be held in the Middle East. Also for the first time, the event will be hosted in the winter rather than the summer. Because of Qatar's size, visitors can attend two matches on the same day, and it will take no more than 45 minutes to travel between any two stadiums. These new state-of-the-art stadiums blend aesthetics, functionality and environmental sustainability to create a truly special experience.
This guide provides an overview of recommended books, articles and magazines in our collection that are relevant to FIFA and football. The Library also has databases, books, journals, reference and other resources, printed or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.
Please search the Catalog to find out which of the recommended resources can be accessed in a digital format on the Library website. The catalog also indicates where these resources can be obtained if available only in a printed format.
For study or general reference questions and further assistance on how to find relevant materials for your information needs, please feel free to contact us through the Ask Our Librarians service.
To view the Arabic guide, click here.
Qatar's Preparation
- Supreme Committee for Delivery and LegacyThe Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy (SC) is well advanced in the implementation of host country operations for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™.
- Government Communications OfficeThe GCO communicates the priorities of the Government of the State of Qatar, works with ministries and other key organisations to tell Qatar’s story and supports government entities in responding to media enquiries in a timely manner.
- Qatar 2022This is a timeline of Al Jazeera's news coverage of FIFA 2022.
FIFA World Cup Timeline
The following websites provide an overview of FIFA World Cup events starting from the mid-20th century. Each website has a varying degree of information.
Associations and Organizations
- FIFA is a non-profit organization which describes itself as an international governing body of association football, fútsal and beach soccer. It is the highest governing body of football.
The Qatar Sports for All Federation was established in 2015 to raise awareness of the concept of sports for all and to increase the number of participants in Qatari society who exercise regularly.
QFA is the governing body of football sports in Qatar.
Couldn't Find the Full Text of an Article?
- Interlending and Document Supply (ILDS)If you found out that no database provides full text copy of the article or you simply want to request for an old newspaper article that is not covered by any of newspaper databases the Library has subscribed to, simply request for document delivery through ILDS.
Journals
These are some of the journals that are relevant to football.
International Journal of Sport & Society
The journal covers the history, sociology and psychology of sport, sports medicine and health, physical and health education, and sports administration and management.
International Journal of History of Sport
The International Journal of the History of Sport ( IJHS ) is the world’s leading sport history academic periodical with its fully refereed global coverage of the subject. As well as regular issues, the IJHS also offers regionally-focused issues on the Americas, Africa, Asia, Australasia and the Pacific, Europe, and, from 2012, the Middle East. Additionally, there are special issues each year on topics and themes of international significance. A reviews section ensures that readers are kept up to date with publications in the field.
The Journal of Sport History seeks to promote the study of all aspects of the history of sport.
For general subject guide on sports science, please visit this guide:
Books
To look for more book titles, search the catalog.
The Fall of the House of FIFA by Call Number: DS247.Q38 G84 2018ISBN: 9781568585963Publication Date: 2017-06-20In 2015, FIFA-the multibillion dollar governing body of the world's most-loved sport-was brought down by allegations of industrial-scale bribes, kickbacks, money laundering, racketeering and tax evasion. Beginning with early morning raids in Zurich and the indictment of twenty-seven executives by the US Department of Justice, the rottenness at the core of FIFA seemed to extend throughout all of soccer, from the decision to send the 2018 and 2022 World Cups to Russia and Qatar to lesser known cases of embezzlement from Trinidad to South Africa. David Conn writes the definitive account of FIFA's rise and fall, covering in great detail the corruption allegations and the series of scandals that continued to shake the public's trust in the organization.
The Official History of the FIFA World Cup by Call Number: DS247.Q38 Q237 2019ISBN: 9781787391581Publication Date: 2019-09-03
Local News and Updates
Read recent and past news articles on Qatar 2022 or the FIFA World Cup from your favorite magazines or newspaper using the following databases:
- Global Breaking Newswires This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe. Global Breaking Newswires is the premier library news product providing timely access to the best newswire content available from around the globe for the modern researcher as well as growing archive of news indexed and accessible through the familiar & popular research functionality of the ProQuest platform. - PressReader This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
PressReader is a journalism and media platform that partners with thousands of the worlds newspaper and magazine publishers to provide access to over 7,000 titles from +100 countries in 60 languages, available on desktop computers, tablets and smartphones.
** Steps to access PressReaders web interface:
1. Visit (http://www-pressreader-com.eres.qnl.qa/) and select Sign In at the top-right of the page.
2. Select Accounts and select Sign In.
3. Select Library and Group and choose Qatar National Library from the list. You can also type the Librarys name to find it easily.
4. Enter your library card number and PIN and click Sign In.
5. Create your PressReader account.
** Steps to access the PressReader app:
1. Download and launch the PressReader app from the store appropriate to your devices operating system (Windows, Apple, Android or BlackBerry).
2. Select Accounts and select Sign In.
3. Select Library and Group and choose Qatar National Library from the list. You can also type the Librarys name to find it easily.
4. Enter your library card number and PIN and click Sign In.
5. Create your PressReader account.
Here is the list of local newspapers accessible through PressReader. You may also refer to the guides below on how to use the said database.
Reference Librarian
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.