Islamic Studies, Religion and Philosophy: Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Help is Here!
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Suggested Keywords
Reference Books
A Concise Encyclopedia of the Philosophy of Religion by Call Number: BL51 .T4275 2005ISBN: 0801031206Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Dictionary of World Philosophy by Call Number: B41 .I26 2013ISBN: 9780415862608Publication Date: 2014-01-16
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Islamic Studies, Religion and Philosophy Subject Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to Islamic studies, religion and philosophy, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.
To view the Arabic guide, click here.
Location of Religion and Philosophy Books
Location of Islamic Law Books
Reference Librarian
Islamic Studies, Religion and Philosophy الدراسات الإسلامية، ودراسات الأديان والفلسفة: الصفحة الرئيسية
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.
Online Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Islam is a comprehensive reference tool on Islamic studies with emphasis on economic and social topics. It also gives access to Historical Atlas of Islam. - Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is an interdisciplinary reference tool that covers research on gender studies and the Islamic world. It also provides primary sources and secondary sources under each entry. - Oxford Bibliographies: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies: Islamic Studies is an authoritative research guide with annotated bibliography and high-end encyclopedia that covers a wide variety of subjects in Islamic Studies. - Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource, produced by Brill Academic Publishers, is an international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, including history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. Index Islamicus features an unmatched breadth of content on the Muslim existence, containing material published by Western orientalists, scholars from the fields of social science and humanities, and Muslims. Spanning from 1906 to the present day, coverage includes information on Muslims from the Middle East, Asia, Africa and other areas.
