Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
QNL Logo

Islamic Art and Architecture: Home

Getting Started

You have several ways to find information. Use the:

Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.

Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.

A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.

Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.

Help is Here!

Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need! 

Introduction

Welcome to the Library's Islamic Art and Architecture Subject Guide!

This guide will give you an overview of the general distinctive characteristics of art and architecture throughout the history of the Islamic world. The material is presented to deal with two main areas:

1. Defining the concept of "Islamic art and architecture"

2. Presenting a group of existing models

To view the Arabic guide, click here

Location of the Print Collection

According to the Library of Congress classification system, Fine Arts Resources fall into Division (N) and encompass many subcategories, the most important of which are:

Visual Arts (General N1- (9211))

History N5300-7418

General Arts N7420-7525.8

Special Topics in Art N7560-8266

Architecture NA1-9428

Architecture and State NA100-130

Religious Architecture NA4590-5621

Local architecture. Homes. Housing NA7100-7884

 

 

Reference Librarian

Profile Photo
Rana A. Abdulrahman| رنا العاني
Subjects الموضوعات:
Fine Arts and Architecture الفنون الجميلة والعمارة, Humanities العلوم الإنسانية, Library Science علوم المكتبات
Questions?
 

Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.

How to Register as a Library Member

Innovation Stations

Programs and Events

Feedback and Suggestions 

How Do I Cite a Source