Manara - Qatar Research Repository (English): Open Access Licenses
Outline
This page outlines the extensive list of licenses available on Manara.
We have grouped them under these main categories: Creative Commons Licenses; Open Data Commons Licenses; Software; Open Source Initiative Licenses; In Copyright
Creative Commons Licenses
CC0 1.0 Universal (CC0 1.0) Public Domain Dedication
Use: Tabular datasets and metadata
The person who associated a work with this deed has dedicated the work to the public domain by waiving all of his or her rights to the work worldwide under copyright law, including all related and neighboring rights, to the extent allowed by law.
You can copy, modify, distribute and perform the work, even for commercial purposes, all without asking permission.
License Link: https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 1.0 Universal Public Domain Dedication International License.
CC BY 4.0
Use: Figures, Media, Posters, Papers, Datasets
CC BY 4.0 (Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International) is a flexible open license that allows anyone to use, share, adapt, and build upon a work for any purpose—even commercially—as long as proper credit is given to the original creator. It is designed for global use and ensures wide dissemination and reuse with minimal restrictions.
License Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
CC BY-SA 4.0
Use: Figures, Media, Posters, Papers, Datasets
CC BY-SA 4.0 (Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International) is an open license that allows others to copy, share and adapt a work—even for commercial use—provided they give proper credit and license any new creations under the same terms. It encourages sharing and adaptation while ensuring that derivative works remain open and freely available under the same license.
License Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the CreativeCommons Attribution- ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
CC BY-ND 4.0
Use: Figures, Media, Posters, Papers, Datasets
CC BY-ND 4.0 (Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International) is an open license that allows others to copy and redistribute a work, including for commercial purposes, as long as they give proper credit and do not modify or adapt the original work in any way.
License Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/4.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the CreativeCommons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.
CC BY-NC 4.0
Use: Figures, Media, Posters, Papers, Datasets
CC BY-NC 4.0 (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International) is a license that allows others to copy, share, and adapt a work for non-commercial purposes only, as long as they provide proper attribution to the original creator. Commercial use is not allowed without additional permission.
License Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the CreativeCommons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
Use: Figures, Media, Posters, Papers, Datasets
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International) is a license that allows others to copy, share, and adapt a work for non-commercial purposes, as long as they give proper credit and license any derivative works under the same terms. Commercial use is not permitted.
License Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the CreativeCommons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
Use: Figures, Media, Posters, Papers, Datasets
CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 (Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International) is a license that allows others to share a work for non-commercial purposes only, as long as they provide proper attribution to the original creator. However, modifications or adaptations of the work are not permitted under this license.
License Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the CreativeCommons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
NOTE: Older versions of Creative Commons licenses (such as CC BY 2.0 and CC BY 3.0) are accepted for publication in Manara – Qatar Research Repository. Researchers will not be able to directly select a specific older license version during submission and should instead choose "In Copyright". The license link and accompanying license statement will still reflect the characteristics of the older license version used.
In Copyright
In Copyright (Educational Use Permitted)
License name: In Copyright (Educational Use Permitted)
Use: Educational Purposes
This item is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. In addition, no permission is required from the rights-holder(s) for educational uses. For other uses, you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).
License Link: https://rightsstatements.org/page/InC-EDU/1.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the In Copyright (Educational Use Permitted) International License.
In Copyright
License name: In Copyright
Use: Restricted access
This item is protected by copyright and/or related rights. You are free to use this item in any way that is permitted by the copyright and related rights legislation that applies to your use. For other uses you need to obtain permission from the rights-holder(s).
License Link: http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/
License Statement: This item is protected by copyright and/or related rights.
Open Data Commons Licenses
ODbL 1.0
Use: Database
License name: Open Data Commons Open Database License (ODbL) v1.0
The Open Database License (ODbL) is a license agreement intended to allow users to freely share, modify and use this database while maintaining this same freedom for others.
License Link: https://opendatacommons.org/licenses/odbl/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the Open Data Commons Open Database License (ODbL) v1.0 International License.
ODC-BY 1.0
License name: Open Data Commons Attribution License (ODC-By)
Use: Database
ODC-BY 1.0 (Open Database Commons Attribution 1.0) is a license for databases that allows users to freely share, modify, and distribute the database, as long as they provide proper attribution to the original creator. It is designed to encourage the use and sharing of database contents while ensuring the original authors are credited.
License Link: https://opendatacommons.org/licenses/by/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the Open Data Commons Attribution License (ODC-By) v1.0 International License.
PDDL 1.0
License name: Open Data Commons Public Domain Dedication and License (PDDL) v1.0
Use: Database
The Open Data Commons – Public Domain Dedication and Licence is a document intended to allow you to freely share, modify, and use this work for any purpose and without any restrictions. This licence is intended for use on databases or their contents (“data”), either together or individually.
License Link: https://opendatacommons.org/licenses/pddl/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the Open Data Commons Attribution License (PDDL) v1.0 International License.
Software
Apache 2.0
License name: Apache License, Version 2.0
Use: Software
The Apache License 2.0 is a permissive open source license that allows free use, modification and distribution of software, including for commercial purposes, while requiring attribution, inclusion of a NOTICE file (if present), and providing a protective patent grant.
License Link: https://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0.html
License Statement: This item is licensed under the Apache License 2.0 version International License.
Mozilla Public License 2.0
License name: Mozilla Public License Version 2.0
Use: Software
The Mozilla Public License 2.0 (MPL 2.0) is an open source software license that allows use, modification and distribution of software, with the condition that any changes to MPL-licensed files must also be shared under the same license. It offers a balance between permissive and copyleft licenses, making it suitable for both open-source and commercial projects.
License Link: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/MPL/2.0/
License Statement: This item is licensed under the Mozilla Public License Version 2.0 International License.
Open Source Initiative Licenses
GPL
License name: GNU General Public License
Use: Software
The GNU General Public License (GPL) is a strong copyleft open source license that allows users to freely use, modify and distribute software, but requires that any derivative works or redistributed versions also be licensed under the same GPL terms, ensuring the software and its modifications remain free and open.
License Link: https://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-3.0.html
License Statement: This item is licensed under the GNU General Public International License.
LGPL-3.0
License name: GNU Lesser General Public License version 3
Use: Software
The GNU Lesser General Public License version 3 (LGPL-3.0) is a free software license designed for software libraries, allowing them to be used in both open-source and proprietary software. It requires modified versions of the library to be released under the LGPL, but permits linking the library with proprietary software without affecting the licensing of the proprietary code.
License Link: https://opensource.org/license/lgpl-3-0
License Statement: This item is licensed under the GNU General Public License version, an international open-source license.
MIT
License name: The MIT License
Use: Software
The MIT License is a short, permissive open source license that allows anyone to use, modify and distribute the software—even in proprietary projects—as long as the original license and copyright notice are included. It offers maximum flexibility with minimal restrictions, making it one of the most widely used licenses in open source development.
License Link: https://opensource.org/license/MIT
License Statement: This item is licensed under the MIT International License.
BSD 3-Clause
License name: The 3-Clause BSD License
Use: Software
The 3-Clause BSD License is a permissive open source license used to allow software to be freely used, modified and distributed—including in proprietary projects—while requiring minimal conditions such as attribution and non-endorsement by the original authors. It is commonly chosen for projects aiming for broad adoption with minimal legal restrictions.
License Link: https://opensource.org/license/BSD-3-Clause
License Statement: This item is licensed under the 3-Clause BSD International License.
BSD 2-Clause
License name: The 2-Clause BSD License
Use: Software
The 2-Clause BSD License is a permissive open source license used to allow software to be freely used, modified and redistributed—even in proprietary applications—while requiring only attribution and a disclaimer of liability. It is ideal for developers seeking maximum freedom for reuse with minimal legal requirements.
License Link: https://opensource.org/license/BSD-2-Clause
License Statement: This item is licensed under the 2-Clause BSD International License.