Setting Dyslexic Mode in Overdrive and Libby Titles: Qatar-Related
Insert general description about this page to be used in all subject guides.
Inclusivity for people with disabilities is one of Qatar's main objectives, providing programs on assistive technology for people with disabilities, information about special needs organizations and resources for parents of children with disabilities. The aim is to support these groups to enable them to live inclusive and independent lives within society.
The Doha Declaration on Disability and Development sets out an action-oriented approach that Qatar hopes will be an international reference point for world governments to integrate the rights of persons with disabilities into their national development plans. The aim is to ensure the needs of persons with disabilities are included in policies related to education, health, employment, and other relevant areas.
(Excerpt from: Doha International Conference on Disability and Development, Dec. 7-8, 2019)
Disability Population in Qatar
The number of individuals with disabilities in Qatar makes up less than 0.5% of the total population. Qataris with disabilities exceed the number of non-Qataris since most expatriate workers are medically fit. A higher percentage of men are recorded as persons with disabilities than women. Congenital factors and disease are the most common causes of disabilities.
For more disability statistics, please follow this link.
For statistics on different disabilities by group/gender/age/zone, please follow this link.
For statistics on Qatari and Non Qatari disabilities, please follow this link
Experts in Qatar
Ghanim Al-Muftah, Entrepreneur and Motivational Speaker
Mr. Ghanim Al Muftah is a twin brother born with caudal regression syndrome, a rare disorder that impairs the development of the lower spine. Given very few chances of survival by doctors, Ghanim has surpassed all expectations. His story has served to amaze and inspire people by being a prominent and exceptional example for people across the world. It is Ghanim’s hope to become a future Paralympian, despite his disabilities.
Faisal Muhammad Al Kooheji, Chairman of Qatar Social and Cultural Center for the Blind
Faisal was born in 1988 with poor eyesight and it continued to weaken until he lost his vision completely at the age of 13. Faisal holds a bachelor’s degree in law from Qatar University and has represented the center in a number of international forums, as well as being a member of the Committee for Employment of People with Disabilities. He is also a member of the Qatari Sports Federation for People with Special Needs, and a member of the National Association for the Rehabilitation of People with Special Needs.
Research Happening in Qatar
Insert here research publications/projects in and about Qatar. MANARA can be a good source. For instance Qatar Biobank, it is a research project happening in Qatar. It is a "a platform that will make vital health research possible through its collection of samples and information on health and lifestyle of the residents of Qatar".
- Qatar BiobankDescription here.
Relevant Institutions and Organizations
Inclusive Public Transportation and Accessible Touristic Location in Qatar
This service allows people with disabilities the ability to move independently, comfortably, and easily.
Website: https://hukoomi.gov.qa/en/service/accessible-taxi-for-people-with-disabilities
Accessible Qatar
Accessible Qatar aims to provide the disabled community instant information about the accessibility of public and tourism venues through a smartphone application and website. It combines expertly-audited data and user reviews and ratings, giving the disabled community the confidence they deserve to explore and enjoy Qatar without limits. Moreover, having accessibility information publicly available will encourage venues to make necessary modifications in support of accessibility for all.
Website: https://www.accessibleqatar.com/list-view/
Special Needs Association/Organizations
Best Buddies
Best Buddies International is a nonprofit organization dedicated to establishing a global volunteer movement that creates opportunities for one-to-one friendships, integrated employment, and leadership development for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities. Best Buddies Qatar was founded in 2008 by Her Highness Sheikha Mozah Bint Nasser, and it has been working under the umbrella of Qatar Social Work Foundation since 2013.
Website: http://www.bestbuddies.org.qa/En/Pages/AboutBestBuddy.aspx
Autism Connect
Autism Connect is a non-profit organization working to tackle topics about autism spectrum disorder such as autism definitions, diagnosis, characteristics, facts, and common misconceptions.
Email: autism.qa@gmail.com
Qatar Paralympic Committee
The Qatar Paralympic Committee (QPC) is not only committed to enabling Paralympic athletes to achieve sporting excellence, but also to developing sports opportunities for all persons with a disability in Qatar from the beginner to elite level. They are working on selecting, preparing, entering, and managing Qatar's team of athletes with various disabilities to compete at the Paralympic Games and other international sport competitions.
Email: qsfsn@qatar.net.qa
Phone: +974 40401410
Qatar Society for Rehabilitation of People with Special Needs
Qatar Society for Rehabilitation of Special Needs seeks to achieve social, psychological, academic and health rehabilitation within the community consistent with the Islamic religion, customs, and traditions of Qatari society, and updates its services to keep pace with societal development. The charity aims to provide greater social, psychological, physical, educational, health, and rehabilitation care for persons with disabilities among Qatar' citizens and residents, regardless of ethnicity, gender, nationality, religion, or socio-economic circumstances.
Website: https://qsrn.org/
Qatar Social and Cultural Center for the Blind
Qatar Social and Cultural Center for the Blind is one of the specialized centers affiliated to the Ministry of Culture. It was established in 2004 to provide social and cultural services for the blind and visually impaired of both genders. The center was the first of its kind for people with visual disabilities in the country and provides social and cultural services.
Website: http://www.blind.gov.qa/en
Qatari Social and Cultural Center for the Deaf
The center is the first of its kind in the State of Qatar, and works to improve access for those with hearing impairments in the fields of education, awareness, and recreation.
Website: http://www.blind.gov.qa/en
Services for Elderly and People with Special Needs
The Ministry of the Interior established a division for the elderly and people with special needs to provide services and facilities for them in one place. It isthe latest addition to a series of services provided by the Ministry of Interior, including fees exemptions, priority in employment, and the Amir Service.
Email: bpea@moi.gov.qa
Phone: 44890892
Special Lounge for Elderly People and Persons with Special Needs
A special lounge is available for persons with special needs and elderly people in the building of the General Directorate to facilitate the provision of transactions and services.
Email: bpea@moi.gov.qa
Phone: +974 44890892
Schools and Centers for Special Needs
Operated by the Ministry of Education, there is a national strategy for children with disabilities that enables them to attend government and private schools along with their enabled peers.
Website: https://www.edu.gov.qa/en/Pages/pubschoolsdefault.aspx?ItemID=69
- Centers for Children with disabilities
Website: http://qatareducationaldirectory.qa/PageResult.aspx?category=4
- Qatar Directory for Special Needs Schools
Website: https://www.qataronlinedirectory.com/129078/company-list/companies-qatar/SCHOOLS---SPECIAL-EDUCATION
Access to Information and Learning
Various initiatives have started to improve accessibility and inclusivity for a wide range of people with disabilities, providing them with opportunities for learning, education, and employment.
Al Noor Institute for the Blind
Email: alnoorinstitute@education.qa
The Al Noor Institute for the Blind offers educational services not just to people living in Qatar, but anyone who may need its services. Programs are tailored to fit the individual needs of each client, giving him/her practical skills.
Qatar Assistive Technology Center (MADA)
Website: https://mada.org.qa/
MADA strives to empower and enable persons with disabilities through information and communication technology. The center offers assessment programs to help outfit people with technologies, allowing them to connect to the digital world with ease.
Qatar National Library – Assistive Technology Center
Website: https://www.qnl.qa/en/people-with-disabilities
QNL - Assistive Technology Center is specially designed for people with disabilities, with adjustable workstations and the latest equipment and software, such as scanning pens with headphones, ergonomic keyboards and mice, braille keyboards, and portable electronic magnifiers. Collections includes materials produced for those with disabilities, such as large-print books, audiobooks, and books in braille.
Qatari Association for Special Needs
Website: https://qrcqatar.com/index.php
The association works to provide suitable accommodation for young people with special needs. It also provides educational aids and artificial limbs to those in need.
Shafallah Center
Website: http://www.shafallah.org.qa/En/Pages/Home.aspx
The Shafallah Center for Children with Special Needs provides support and counseling services to families, as well as educational, instructional, social, vocational, and recreational services to children with disabilities.
Health Services for People with Disabilities
Newborn Screening Program:
Qatar’s Newborn Screening Program (QNSP) has benefited about 205,832 babies since it was established in December 2003, according to Hamad Medical Corporation’s (HMC) Women’s Hospital. The program has enabled early diagnosis of 642 babies with disorders, resulting in over 98 percent of the babies being successfully treated for potentially fatal or disabling conditions that often do not show visible symptoms during the first few days of a baby’s life.
- Early identification of disability in NICU
- Neuro-developmental multi-disciplinary clinics following up pre-term and high-risk infant up to the age of 2 years.
- Early referrals to therapy services are generated from various clinics.
Website: https://www.hamad.qa/EN/Hospitals-and-services/WWRC/Pages/default.aspx
Rehab Services:
- Early intervention program in Rumailah Hospital (Child development Center CDC).
- Outpatient therapy services in all rehab disciplines like occupational therapy, physiotherapy, and speech therapy.
Pre-integration program:
- Preparing children for schools or special needs centers:
All these are operated by Hamad Medical Corporation's Children's Rehab Department.
Website: https://www.hamad.qa/EN/Hospitals-and-services/Rumailah-Hospital/Pages/default.aspx
Continuing Care operated by Hamad Medical Corporation
Continuing Care at Hamad Medical Corporation involves providing services for patients who need care outside of the hospital setting in specialized facilities, in their home or in the community. The services include rehabilitation, care for the elderly, long-term care, and homecare services - all centered around providing the safest, most effective, and most compassionate care to each and every patient. Qatar’s demographics, the increase in chronic diseases, disabilities, road traffic accidents and an aging population all require comprehensive and holistic continuing care services.
Website: https://www.hamad.qa/EN/Hospitals-and-services/Continuing-Care/Pages/default.aspx
Social Services for People with Disabilities:
The Social Security Department at the Ministry of Administrative Development, Labor, and Social Affairs (MADLSA) provides this service to persons with disabilities or those who suffer from an incurable condition, providing them with an allowance from the government.
Social Assistance Allowance for the Disabled
- The allowance is QAR 6,000 and if the disabled person is married, then his wife receives QAR 2,000 and each child QAR 1,000.
- To submit and apply for the Social Assistance Allowance, please click the link.
Parking Permit for Persons with Disabilities
This service enables individuals to submit a request to the General Directorate of Traffic at the Ministry of Interior to take advantage of the parking lots allocated for persons with disabilities and receive permits for such parking spaces
- This service is available in person and online.
- To submit and apply for a parking permit, please click the link.
More to Explore
- MADA Center
Provides training programs on the latest innovations and technological solutions in the Arabic language that improve digital accessibility and empower people with functional limitations (persons with disabilities and the elderly) to ensure digital inclusion.
Website: https://mada.org.qa/capability-building/
- WISH Qatar – World Innovation for Summit for Health
WISH collaborates with various health institutions and stakeholders in Qatar to lead solutions to overcome all challenges in the sphere of health.
Website: https://www.wish.org.qa/
Recommended Books
Disability Visibility
Book description:
Disabled young people will be proud to see themselves reflected in this hopeful, compelling, and insightful essay collection, adapted for young adults from the critically acclaimed adult book, Disability Visibility: First Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century that "sheds light on the experience of life as an individual with disabilities, as told by none other than authors with these life experiences." —Chicago Tribune, "Best books published in summer 2020" (Vintage/Knopf Doubleday edition).
The Disability Experience
Book description:
"This nonfiction book for teens provides a history of disability, describes types of disabilities and examines the challenges faced by people living with disabilities."-- Provided by publisher.
Being Heumann: An Unrepentant Memoir of a Disability Rights Activist / Judith Heumann, with Kristen Joiner.
| Call number |
Book description:
One of the most influential disability rights activists in US history tells her personal story of fighting for the right to receive an education, have a job, and just be human. A story of fighting to belong in a world that wasn't built for all of us and of one woman's activism - from the streets of Brooklyn and San Francisco to inside the halls of Washington - Being Heumann recounts Judy Heumann's lifelong battle to achieve respect, acceptance, and inclusion in society.
Disability in International Human Rights Law / Gauthier de Beco.
| Call number |
Book description:
The integration of disability into international human rights law - Historical background: towards a human rights treaty for disabled people -- Conceptual background : disability in the field of international human rights law -- Theoretical background : the inclusion of disabled people -- Normative background : the dis-abled subject in international human rights law -- II. Standards: Human rights for disabled people and beyond -- Legal capacity : a challenging priority -- Inclusive education : a hidden priority -- Work : a needed priority -- Political participation : an ultimate priority -- III. Implementation: From rights to reality -- Participation : 'nothing about us without us' -- Monitoring : the role of independent mechanisms -- Conclusion: From the margins to the center
Recommended Journals
Karger Journals
Karger Journals provides access to more than 100 full-text medical and scientific e-journals.
Al Manhal Journals
Al Manhal is a leading database that provides a unique opportunity to all QNL users to access Arabic ebooks, full text of peer-reviewed eJournals, and thousands of full-text dissertations & theses from the Arab world's leading universities, research centers and scientific societies.