Setting Dyslexic Mode in Overdrive and Libby Titles: Articles
Finding Articles
Use online databases to find electronic full text and peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles. You can search for periodical articles by the article author, title or keyword by using databases in your subject area.
To access the A-Z list of e-journal titles, click here.
Online Databases
- EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Research Databases provides combined access to a number of relevant resources for elementary and middle school students, including Primary Search, Middle Search Plus and Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia. - Education Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Education Database provides access to over 1,090 educational publications, including more than 800 of the titles in full text. - Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Sourceis a full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Reference provides access to Oxford Research Library Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East, Biographical Encyclopedia of Islamic Philosophy, and Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. This database is a comprehensive reference tool that covers large number of full-text records. - Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This provides easy access for more than 230 academic and research journals in Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science. It allows users to search by title of journal or article. The database also offers perpetual access for all previous issues.QNL members have full-text access to Journals Archive (1791-1995) and content from 2012 up to December 2016. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQ Central is a vast aggregated full-text database, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. It serves as a central resource for researchers at all levels. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. It includes 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Here are some useful guides for you to start off. You may also opt to view the tutorial videos related to some of the databases recommended above.
Interlending and Document Supply Service
The Interlending and Document Supply (ILDS) service provides you with materials in an electronic or print format that are not available in the Library’s resources and collections.
Newspapers and Magazines
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader is a journalism and media platform that partners with thousands of the worlds newspaper and magazine publishers to provide access to over 7,000 titles from +100 countries in 60 languages, available on desktop computers, tablets and smartphones.
** Steps to access PressReaders web interface:
- Visit PresRreader and select Sign In at the top-right of the page.
- Select Accounts and select Sign In.
- Select Library and Group and choose Qatar National Library from the list. You can also type the Librarys name to find it easily.
- Enter your library card number and PIN and click Sign In.
- Create your PressReader account.
** Steps to access PressReaders app interface:
- Download and launch the PressReader app from the store appropriate to your devices operating system (Windows, Apple, Android or BlackBerry).
- Select Accounts and select Sign In.
- Select Library and Group and choose Qatar National Library from the list. You can also type the Librarys name to find it easily.
- Enter your library card number and PIN and click Sign In.
- Create your PressReader account.
Here are some useful sources on how to use the recommended database/s above.