Geography : For Entertainment
Main Databases of Popular Periodicals
PressReader is a journalism and media platform that partners with thousands of the worlds newspaper and magazine publishers to provide access to over 7,000 titles from +100 countries in 60 languages, available on desktop computers, tablets and smartphones.
Press Reader App:
Download the app to read popular newspapers and interesting magazines on your device.
Libby App:
OverDrive's Libby App provides QNL users access to the RBdigital Magazines
Download the app to read popular e-books, audiobooks, magazines and comic books. The application is available on different operating systems platforms such as:
The NYTimes digital newspaper enables users to reach multimedia content including news articles, picture galleries, infographics, NYTimes videos, podcasts and more. Users can also research NYTimes articles in the Historical Archives back to the year 1851. Daily and weekly newsletters are included, such as The Morning, On Politics, At Home, Books, Well, Climate, Opinion, Coronavirus Briefing, Great Getaways, The NYTimes Magazine, Morning Briefing: Europe Edition, Breaking News, Evening Briefing, Science Times, Smarter Living, Sports, Travel Deals, Today's Headlines, Times Journeys, Top Stories, Watching, and many more.
The New York Times App:
Download the app on your device, to access articles, videos and podcasts of The New York Times.
Al Murshid Application
A bilingual iOS app developed by The Centre for GIS - Ministry of Municipality & Urban Planning - State of Qatar. The application displays Aerial/Satellite imagery and vector maps for streets, street names, landmark symbols, Also provides Search and Locate services. to download this app click here.
Documentaries in the library online resources
CREDO offers a collection of documentaries in English by National Geographic on subjects such as astronomy, anthropology, atmospheric science, botany, chemistry, geography and zoology. To view the collection, click here.
On Social media
Key words you can use for search
Documentaries available online
Qatar: Essence of the Past
The aerial images album of Qatar uses images from the archive at the Center for Geographic Information Systems, which date back to 1947. This album contains aerial photos of Qatar's cities, organized from oldest to the most recent. It includes images of Doha, Al Khor, Al Wakrah and Al Rayyan, showing landmarks and monuments in the cities along with brief explanations of the photos. To view the album, please click here.
My Address
The Geographic Information Systems Center has developed an online application that lets you access building data by searching by building, street and area number. You can link use the data to locate the building on a printable map. For more information, click here.