Education: Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
A-Z List of Titles to search for specific e-journal titles.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches.
Recommended search terms in Education:
Help is Here!
If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Online Reference Sources
- Education Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Education Database provides access to over 1,090 educational publications, including more than 800 of the titles in full text. - EduSearch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EduSearch: is a huge educational informatics gateway which is considered as the optimal and integrated solution that fits the requirements of specialists and researchers because it covers a wide range of topics in the field of education - ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds. ERIC contains more than 1.6 million records in a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Further, researchers can limit search results by education level such as Early Childhood Education as well as on the intended audience such as Counselors or Teachers.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition contains the online version of the standard encyclopedia, an Arabic Translation Tool plus full-text journal and magazine articles and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.
- Credo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This online database has 597 selected titles from 80+ publishers. Credo Reference authoritative content covers various major subject areas which include arts, medicine, psychology, history, technology, and literature. It offers a mixed collection of reference resources such as general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Its platform aggregates content to provide researchers with a cross-searchable learning experience via its signature concept map.
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Education Subject Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to education, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.
To view the Arabic guide, click here.
Education Print Collection
The education print collection is organized in alignment with Class L of the Library of Congress Classification. It includes the following subclasses:
Subclass L – Education (General)
Subclass LA – History of education
Subclass LB – Theory and practice of education
Subclass LC – Special aspects of education
Subclass LD – Individual institutions - United States
Subclass LE – Individual institutions - America (except United States)
Subclass LF – Individual institutions - Europe
Subclass LG – Individual institutions - Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific islands
Subclass LH – College and school magazines and papers
Subclass LJ – Student fraternities and societies, United States
Subclass LT – Textbooks
The education print collection is located in Tier 2 of the Library. It spreads from shelf 2.1.10A to shelf 2.2.5B (see map below).
Print Reference Sources
A Dictionary of Education by
Education is of relevance to everyone but it involves a specialized vocabulary and terminology which may be opaque or unfamiliar to those new to the field. This UK-focused Dictionary of Education provides clear and concise definitions for over 1,100 terms, from A* to zero tolerance, that anyone studying education or working in the field is likely to encounter.
Call Number: LB15 .D483 2015ISBN: 9780199679393Publication Date: 2015-02-02
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education by
The diversity education literature, both nationally and internationally, is broad and diffuse. Consequently, there needs to be a systematic and logical way to organize and present the state of research for students and professionals. With about 700 signed entries with cross-references and recommended readings, the Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education will present research and statistics, case studies, and best practices, policies, and programs at pre- and post-secondary levels.
Call Number: LC1099 .E53 2012ISBN: 9781412981521Publication Date: 2012-05-24
Your Education Masters Companion by
Your Education Masters Companion will help you choose the right Masters Course for your needs and provides the essential information you need to pass first time. Offering guidance based on years of experience working with a range of Masters level students, it unpacks the defining characteristic of successful Masters level work, and explores key aspects of undertaking your course - reading, writing, producing a literature review, research methodologies, data collection tools, research reports, dissertations and presentations.
Call Number: LB1741.5 .M45 2015ISBN: 9780415735759Publication Date: 2015-06-23
499 Words Every College Student Should Know by
Using easy-to-understand, informative, and often humorous explanations of every word, 499 Words Every College Student Should Know explores how to use the words in proper context. The majority of these words were chosen because they are common in media, literature, and online, and students need to understand them. On any given day, you might read "abrogate" used in a USA Today article; or "demagogue" or "fiduciary" used on CNN. You might hear "ensorcelled" and "torpor" in a TV drama; you'll hear a political candidate described as "truculent." You may hear "pedantic" used in a movie. How many of these words are part of most college students' "arsenal of words"? Hopefully all of them, but if not, 499 Words Every College Student Should Know will provide them with what they need to become more articulate in their speaking and writing. It will also enhance their comprehension in their reading, ultimately culminating in what every student aspires to: earning better grades! 499 Words Every College Student Should Know teaches truly important vocabulary words and focuses on Professor Spignesi's classroom-tested Trinity of Vocabulary Use. For each word, the vocabulary-enriched and educated student will be able to: Understand the word in their reading Use the word in their speaking Make good use of the word in their writing Knowing them -- in fact, using the words and making them part of their everyday language -- will make any college student or those soon-to-be, more credible.
ISBN: 9781510723870Publication Date: 2017-08-29
From the Brain to the Classroom by
Supplying a foundation for understanding the development of the brain and the learning process, this text examines the physical and environmental factors that influence how we acquire and retain information throughout our lives. The book also lays out practical strategies that educators can take directly into the classroom. Comprising more than 100 entries, From the Brain to the Classroom: The Encyclopedia of Learning gathers experts in the fields of education, neuroscience, and psychology to examine how specific areas of the brain work in thought processes, and identifies how educators can apply what neuroscience has discovered to refine their teaching and instructional techniques. The wide range of subjects_organized within the main categories of student characteristics, classroom instructional topics, and learning challenges_include at-risk behaviors; cognitive neuroscience; autism; the lifespan of the brain, from prenatal brain development to the aging brain; technology-based learning tools; and addiction. Any reader who is interested in learning about how the brain works and how it relates to everyday life will find this work fascinating, while educators will find this book particularly helpful in validating or improving their teaching methods to increase academic achievement. Covers a wide range of topics written by educationists, psychologists, and neuroscientists who are all experts in their field Provides meaningful instructional strategies that can be applied in the real world to improve educators' results Examines the brain through the human lifespan_prenatal, early childhood, childhood, adolescence, adult, and old age_in order to supply a comprehensive look at how neuroscience can be applied to improve learning at all stages of maturity Addresses cognitive neuroscience findings as they relate to special education students_invaluable information for educators who work with this important group of learners
ISBN: 9781610695398Publication Date: 2014-01-15
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.