Education: Find Books
Print Books
This is a small selection of available print books. For more titles, search the catalog.
Education and society in the Middle East and North Africa : English, citizenship and peace education by Call Number: PE1068.M628 E38 2020ISBN: 9781527543614Publication Date: 2020
Diversity and Inclusion in Higher Education and Societal Contexts by
Groundbreaking in its international, interdisciplinary, and multi-professional approach to diversity and inclusion in higher education, this volume puts theory in conversation with practice, articulates problems, and suggests deep-structured strategies from multiple perspectives including performed art, education, dis/ability studies, institutional as well as government policy, health humanities, history, jurisprudence, psychology, race and ethnicity studies, and semiotic theory. The authors--originating from Austria, Germany, Luxembourg, Trinidad, Turkey, and the US-- invite readers to join the conversation and sustain the work.
ISBN: 9783319701745Publication Date: 2018-01-31
Teacher Professional Learning in International Education by
This book examines the impact of internationalization, student mobility and transnational workforce mobility on the changing nature of teacher work and teacher professional learning in the Vocational Education and Training (VET) sector. Derived from a three-year project funded by the Australian Research Council across more than 30 VET and HE institutions, this is the first book that explores teacher professional learning in international education. The authors address how teachers position their professional responsibilities and learning in relation to the institutional structure, internationalization agenda and policy fields in which their profession is embedded by drawing on both empirical evidence and key concepts and models of teacher professional learning. This pioneering text provides international education and VET policy makers, practitioners, educators and researchers with unique insights and practical implications for enhancing teacher professional learning and capabilities in international education.
ISBN: 9783319705149Publication Date: 2017-12-15
The Best Teacher in You by Call Number: LB1025.3 .Q46 2014ISBN: 9781626561786Publication Date: 2014-06-30What does teaching look like at its very best? How are great teachers able to ignite a love of learning and change students' lives? In this book you'll learn from seven remarkable teachers who stretch beyond the conventional foundations of good teaching to transform their classrooms into exciting, dynamic places where teachers and students cocreate the learning experience.
How to write a winning scholarship essay : including 30 essays that won over $3 million in scholarships by Call Number: LB2338 .T363 2014ISBN: 9781617600425Publication Date: 2014-07-15Examining the two basic components of scholarship competition--essays and interviews--this vital guidebook offers practical advice and real-life examples to guide students through the entire application process. A roundtable panel of judges and applicants supply inside information regarding the winning qualities sought after by award-giving organizations and tips for finding scholarships by using books, the internet, personal connections, and sources in the community.
Make it stick : the science of successful learning by Call Number: LB1060 .B768 2014ISBN: 9780674729018Publication Date: 2014-04-14To most of us, learning something "the hard way" implies wasted time and effort. Good teaching, we believe, should be creatively tailored to the different learning styles of students and should use strategies that make learning easier. Make It Stick turns fashionable ideas like these on their head. Drawing on recent discoveries in cognitive psychology and other disciplines, the authors offer concrete techniques for becoming more productive learners.
Psychology of Education by
Originally published in 1979, this title is based upon Professor Stones' extensive work with practising and student teachers. His overriding concern is with the contribution of psychology to pedagogy to help practitioners improve their practice and theorists test their theories. He develops the thesis that teaching involves the teacher in psychological experimentation. Thus one of the most important laboratories for testing the application of learning theories is the classroom. The adoption of this view offers the potential for transforming teaching and our understanding of human learning. Unlike the majority of books in the field of educational psychology at the time it is not a synoptic anthology of the writings of the current gurus in the field or its close neighbours. Instead, guides are given to teachers/experimenters to plan, try out and evaluate their teaching/experimenting. The central theme adopted at the outset and held throughout the book is the improvement of teaching through the explicit, informed use of psychopedagogical principles.
ISBN: 9781138633667Publication Date: 2017-09-27
Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons by Call Number: LB1525.354 .E54 2011ISBN: 9780671631987Publication Date: 1986-06-15SRA's DISTAR is one of the most successful beginning reading programs available to schools. Research has proven that children taught by the DISTAR method outperform their peers. Now, this program has been adapted for use at home. In only 20 minutes a day, this remarkable step-by-step program teaches your child to read--with the love, care, and joy only a parent and child cane share.
Ebooks
This is a small selection of available ebooks. For more titles, search the catalog or browse OverDrive database. Here is a guide to help you get started with OverDrive.
Higher Education in the Gulf States by
In two generations the Gulf States have gone from having the Middle East's least educated population to having a younger generation whose educational achievements are approaching OECD standards. This comprehensive and intelligent study charts the trajectory of higher education development in the Gulf States, placing the many accomplishments within the remarkable social, economic, and political context of this often misunderstood region.
Call Number: LA1431.4 .H55 2008ISBN: 9780863566974Publication Date: 2009-06-01
How Children Succeed by
Why do some children succeed while others fail? The story we usually tell about childhood and success is the one about intelligence: success comes to those who score highest on tests, from preschool admissions to SATs. But in How Children Succeed, Paul Tough argues that the qualities that matter more have to do with character: skills like perseverance, curiosity, optimism, and self-control.
Call Number: LB1139.25 .T68 2012ISBN: 9780547564661Publication Date: 2012-09-04
Teachers' Roles in Second Language Learning by
This book is designed to provide practical applications of sociocultural theory with regard to teachers’ roles in second language education. By providing specific examples of teachers’ roles in the classroom, the book aims to help researchers, teacher educators, and classroom teachers make clear connections between practice and theory in second language learning. All the studies in this edited book are conducted in the PreK16 classroom setting.
ISBN: 1617358479Publication Date: 2012-06-01
McGraw-Hill Education IELTS, Second Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. IELTS Prep from the Name You Trust McGraw-Hill IELTS, Second Edition is the ideal way to sharpen skills and prepare for this high-stakes English proficiency test, which is required for admission or hiring by schools, multinational corporations, and government agencies worldwide. Whether you're preparing for the Academic or General Training version of the IELTS, you'll benefit from the intensive practice you get from tests prepared by a veteran IELTS teacher and grader. The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is a paper-based test consisting of four modules: Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking. Question types include multiple choice, sentence completion, short answer, classification, matching, labeling, and diagram/chart interpretation. This guide provides intensive practice with tests just like the real IELTS in format, topic coverage, and degree of difficulty. Tips on English spelling and grammar, and exercises throughout the book, prepare you for all sections of the test. Downloadable audio tracks model examples of strong responses to the speaking and listening sections. Score-Raising Features Include: * 4 practice Academic Tests * 2 practice General Training Tests * Drills to help you build the English language skills you need * Strategies specific to each question type * Advice on the best ways to approach the important Writing sections * Special sections for people who need to reach Band Seven on the IELTS * MP3 CD includes audio files to help you prepare for the Listening and Speaking sections Everything you need to succeed on the IELTS in one comprehensive package!
ISBN: 9781259859564Publication Date: 2017-01-09
Smart Learning Objects for Smart Education in Computer Science by
This monograph presents the challenges, vision and context to design smart learning objects (SLOs) through Computer Science (CS) education modelling and feature model transformations. It presents the latest research on the meta-programming-based generative learning objects (the latter with advanced features are treated as SLOs) and the use of educational robots in teaching CS topics. The introduced methodology includes the overall processes to develop SLO and smart educational environment (SEE) and integrates both into the real education setting to provide teaching in CS using constructivist and project-based approaches along with evaluation of pedagogic outcomes. Smart Learning Objects for Smart Education in Computer Science will appeal to researchers in CS education particularly those interested in using robots in teaching, course designers and educational software and tools developers. With research and exercise questions at the end of each chapter students studying CS related courses will find this work informative and valuable too.
ISBN: 9783319169132Publication Date: 2015-05-31
Technology in Education. Transforming Educational Practices with Technology by
This book constitutes the refereed proceedings of the International Conference on Technology in Education, ICTE 2014, held in Hong Kong, in July 2014. The 18 revised full papers and 4 short papers presented were carefully reviewed and selected from 45 submissions. The papers are organized in topical sections on application of mobile technologies in e-learning; technology advancement in e-learning systems; innovations in e-learning pedagogy; open education and institution e-learning policy.
ISBN: 9783662461587Publication Date: 2015-02-04
Artificial Intelligence in Education by
This book constitutes the refereed proceedings of the 17th International Conference on Artificial Intelligence in Education, AIED 2015, held in Madrid, Spain, in June 2015. The 50 revised full papers presented together with 3 keynotes, 79 poster presentations, 13 doctoral consortium papers, 16 workshop abstracts, and 8 interactive event papers were carefully reviewed and selected from numerous submissions. The conference provides opportunities for the cross-fertilization of approaches, techniques and ideas from the many fields that comprise AIED, including computer science, cognitive and learning sciences, education, game design, psychology, sociology, linguistics, as well as many domain-specific areas.
ISBN: 9783319197739Publication Date: 2015-06-16
Gamification in Education and Business by
This book is dedicated to applied gamification in the areas of education and business, while also covering pitfalls to avoid and guidelines needed to successfully implement for a project. Using different theoretical backgrounds from various areas including behavioral economics, game theory, and complex adaptive systems, the contributors aim to help readers avoid common problems and difficulties that they could face with poor implementation. The book's contributors are scholars and academics from the many areas where the key theory of gamification typically comes from. Ultimately, the book's goal is to help bring together the theories from these different disciplines to the field of practice in education and business. The book is divided into four parts: Theory, Education, Business, and Use Cases. Part I provides a foundation on the theory of gamification and offers insight into some of the outstanding questions that have yet to be addressed. In Part II, the application and value that gamification can bring within the education sector is examined. The book then changes focus in Part III to spotlight the use of gamification within business environments. The topics also cover educational aspects like improved learning outcomes, motivation, and learning retention at the workplace. Finally Part IV concentrates on the applications and use of gamification through a series of case studies and key elements that are used in real situations to drive real results.
ISBN: 9783319102085Publication Date: 2014-11-22
STEM and ICT Education in Intelligent Environments by
This book combines information communication technology (ICT) with the creative interdisciplinary teaching approach known as STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics). It introduces STEM and Creative Education and shows (through examples and creative activities) the importance and impact that ICT has for STEM and modern education. The book describes the audio visual classroom, the use of the Internet, Social Networking and STEM and provides STEM lessons for both the real and virtual worlds. Instructors will find this unique textbook to be very useful with students, of various ages, in creative education and engineering classes. This special book offers something for everyone. It serves as a guide for teachers in charge of science fairs and creative classes, especially those which require STEM education. It also includes activities to help develop creative thinking and problem-solving skills and prepares students who plan to become teachers and mentors of the future. Readers in general can simultaneously enjoy and learn about ICT's impact on STEM and modern education. In addition, e-learning designers and administrators who want to introduce e-learning systems into their organizations can refer to this book as a reference and a resource. The book complements most e-learning and ICT education books which generally focus too much on technical issues.
ISBN: 9783319192345Publication Date: 2015-07-16
Tuesdays with Morrie by
Maybe it was a grandparent, or a teacher, or a colleague. Someone older, patient and wise, who understood you when you were young and searching, helped you see the world as a more profound place, gave you sound advice to help you make your way through it. For Mitch Albom, that person was Morrie Schwartz, his college professor from nearly twenty years ago. He rediscovered Morrie in the last months of the older man's life. Knowing he was dying, Morrie visited with Mitch in his study every Tuesday, just as they used to back in college. Their rekindled relationship turned into one final "class": lessons in how to live. Tuesdays with Morrie is a magical chronicle of their time together, through which Mitch shares Morrie's lasting gift with the world.
Call Number: LD571.B418 S383 2007ISBN: 9780767905923Publication Date: 2002-10-08
Audiobooks
This is a small selection of available audiobooks. For more titles, search the catalog or browse OverDrive database. Here is a guide to help you get started with OverDrive.
Educated by ISBN: 9780525589983Publication Date: 2018-02-20An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, Tara Westover was seventeen the first time she set foot in a classroom. Her family was so isolated from mainstream society that there was no one to ensure the children received an education, and no one to intervene when one of Tara's older brothers became violent. When another brother got himself into college, Tara decided to try a new kind of life. Her quest for knowledge transformed her, taking her over oceans and across continents, to Harvard and to Cambridge University. Only then would she wonder if she'd traveled too far, if there was still a way home.
In Conclusion, Don't Worry about It by ISBN: 9781524799595Publication Date: 2018-04-03In this expansion of the 2017 commencement speech she gave at her hometown Langley High, Lauren Graham, the beloved star of Gilmore Girls and Parenthood, reflects on growing up, pursuing your dreams, and living in the here and now.
Normal Sucks: How to Live, Learn, and Thrive Outside the Lines by ISBN: 9781250190161Publication Date: 2019-08-13Jonathan Mooney blends anecdote, expertise, and memoir to present a new mode of thinking about how we live and learn--individually, uniquely, and with advantages and upshots to every type of brain and body. As a neuro-diverse kid diagnosed with dyslexia and ADHD who didn't learn to read until he was twelve, the realization that that he wasn't the problem--the system and the concept of normal were--saved Mooney's life and fundamentally changed his outlook.
