Military and Naval Science: Home
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Publication Finder to search for specific titles of eJournals, periodicals, series, eBooks, theses/dissertations, annual reports, and many more. Use this when you know exact publication title you are looking for. Note that if you are looking only for a specific article title, use the Discovery Search.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Help is Here!
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Other Reference Sources
Use these reference titles for definitions, codes, standards, and topic overviews and background information.
Encyclopedia of Military Science by ISBN: 9781412969338Publication Date: 2013-08-16The Encyclopedia of Military Science provides a comprehensive, ready-reference on the organization, traditions, training, purpose, and functions of today's military. Entries in this four-volume work include coverage of the duties, responsibilities, and authority of military personnel and an understanding of strategies and tactics of the modern military and how they interface with political, social, legal, economic, and technological factors. A large component is devoted to issues of leadership, group dynamics, motivation, problem-solving, and decision making in the military context.
Encyclopedia of Military Technology and Innovation by ISBN: 9781573565578Publication Date: 2004-06-30From the Abrams M1 tank to the zeppelin, this essential reference details the invention and evolution of nearly 600 of the most important advances in military technology from prehistory to the present.
The Dictionary of Military Terms by ISBN: 1629145033Publication Date: 2015-02-17This is the comprehensive, standardized dictionary of military and associated terminology compiled and used by the Department of Defense
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Military and Naval Science Subject Guide!
This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to military and naval science, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.
Military Science Print Collection
Most military and naval science-related print titles you see in this guide are shelved or organized in the following call number ranges:
U1-900 - Military Science (General)
U27-43 - History of Military Science
U150-155 - Military Planning
U161-163 - Strategy
U164-167.5 -Tactics
U168- Logistics
U263-264.5- Atomic Warfare, Atomic Weapons
U400-714 - Military education and training
U799-897 - History of Arms and Armor
For Military History see class ranges D-F
V1-995- Naval Science (General)
V25-55- History and Antiquities of Naval Science
V160-165- Strategy
V167-178- Tactics
V390-395- Naval Research
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.