Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use online databases to find electronic articles in journals, newspapers and magazines. You can search for periodical articles by the article author, title or keyword by using databases in your subject area.
To access A-Z list of journal titles, click here.
Academic Search Ultimate (ASU) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database covering a wide array of subjects including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language & linguistics, arts & literature, medicine, ethnic studies. The database includes magazines, peer reviewed and scholarly journals, trade publications and more with coverage dating back to 1890.
Directory Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a world scientific and scholarly journals directory, which provides free access to around 3 million articles from over 11,000 academic journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Research Databases provides combined access to a number of relevant resources for elementary and middle school students, including Primary Search, Middle Search Plus and Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The entire back runs of journals (from volume 1, issue 1) are provided with an embargo for the most recent 3 years.
Military Database This link opens in a new window
Military Database in PQ Central covers topics across all government and military branches including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space fight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes over 600 titles, with more than 410 available in full text.
Oxford University Press Journals This link opens in a new window
This provides easy access for more than 230 academic and research journals in Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science. It allows users to search by title of journal or article. The database also offers perpetual access for all previous issues.QNL members have full-text access to Journals Archive (1791-1995) and content from 2012 up to December 2016.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
PQ Central is a vast aggregated full-text database, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. It serves as a central resource for researchers at all levels.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. It includes 21,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Taylor and Francis Online Journal Library consists of 2 databases, the Science & Technology Library (ST Library) and the Social Science and Humanities Library (SSH Library). It has a broad multidisciplinary collection with access to over 1500 titles covering 19 broad subjects.
Here are some useful guides for you to start off. You may also opt to view the tutorial videos related to some of the databases recommended above.
EBSCOhost - A Powerful Reference System for EBSCO Databases
Oxford Reference - Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Interlending and Document Supply Service
Newspapers and Magazines
PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader is a journalism and media platform that partners with thousands of the world’s newspaper and magazine publishers from +100 countries in 60 languages, available on desktop computers, tablets and smartphones.
Here are some useful sources on how to use the recommended databases above.
PressReader - Connecting People Through News
Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes over 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format and nearly 3 million searchable citations from around the world from 1743 to the present day.
e-Marefa Arab Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
This e-Marefa database contains more than 25,000 theses and dissertations published in the Arab World, as well as 6,500 Arabic reviews of international theses.