Data, Statistics and Data Visualization: Find Articles
Find Articles
Use online databases to find electronic articles in journals, newspapers and magazines. You can search for articles by the article author, title or keyword by using databases in your subject area.
Visit A-Z list of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.
Online Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- e-Marefa Databank for Islamic Economics and Finance This link opens in a new window
This databank offers a broad range of full-text content and bibliographic metadata designed for research in the topic of Islamic Economics and Finance. It contains thousands of annual and quarterly reports of institutions working in 40 countries, around 3,000 journals and journal articles, a directory of +7,500 thesaurus and terms used in the field, around 600 theses and dissertations, more than 4,000 fatwa and Shariah resolutions, around 1,200 ebooks and book reviews, as well as 8 other directories featuring institutions, persons, laws and legislations, policies and regulations, concepts and terminologies, conference proceedings and papers, academic programs, and institutional financial statements. The databank also provides a geography discovery tool by which researchers can retrieve available resources by region, country, or city.
- e-Marefa Academic and Statistical Periodicals This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains a collection of 1,900 academic and statistical periodicals and around 400,000 full-text articles from 300 entities in 19 Arab countries.
The database covers the humanities, social sciences, medical and health sciences, economics and business administration, engineering and information technology, natural and life sciences, and periodic statistical reports. - EBSCOhost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Research Databases provides combined access to a number of relevant resources for elementary and middle school students, including Primary Search, Middle Search Plus and Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia. - Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Viewpoint This link opens in a new windowEIU Viewpoint provides global, regional and country-level analysis and data insights of over 200 countries and markets monitoring their political, policy and economic performances.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore provides Web access to 3.1 million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. - ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PQ Central is a vast aggregated full-text database, with thousands of periodical titles and millions of full-text articles available. It serves as a central resource for researchers at all levels. - ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Direct eJournals is a full-text database of scientific Journals covering physical sciences, engineering, life sciences, health, social sciences, and humanities. QNLs current subscription provides full-text access to articles in more than 2,500 journals.
Here are some useful guides for you to start off. You may also opt to view the tutorial videos related to some of the databases recommended above.
- Directory Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is a world scientific and scholarly journals directory, which provides free access to around 3 million articles from over 11,000 academic journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.
- QScience.com This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Qscience.com is a peer-reviewed online publishing platform that provides a growing range of peer-reviewed open access journals in medicine and bioscience, healthcare, social science, Islamic studies, and engineering.
Newspapers and Magazines
- New York Times, The This link opens in a new window
The NYTimes digital newspaper enables users to reach multimedia content including news articles, picture galleries, infographics, NYTimes videos, podcasts and more. Users can also research NYTimes articles in the Historical Archives back to the year 1851. Daily and weekly newsletters are included, such as The Morning, On Politics, At Home, Books, Well, Climate, Opinion, Coronavirus Briefing, Great Getaways, The NYTimes Magazine, Morning Briefing: Europe Edition, Breaking News, Evening Briefing, Science Times, Smarter Living, Sports, Travel Deals, Today's Headlines, Times Journeys, Top Stories, Watching, and many more.
- PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PressReader is a journalism and media platform that partners with thousands of the worlds newspaper and magazine publishers to provide access to over 7,000 titles from +100 countries in 60 languages, available on desktop computers, tablets and smartphones.
** Steps to access PressReaders web interface:
- Visit PresRreader and select Sign In at the top-right of the page.
- Select Accounts and select Sign In.
- Select Library and Group and choose Qatar National Library from the list. You can also type the Librarys name to find it easily.
- Enter your library card number and PIN and click Sign In.
- Create your PressReader account.
** Steps to access PressReaders app interface:
- Download and launch the PressReader app from the store appropriate to your devices operating system (Windows, Apple, Android or BlackBerry).
- Select Accounts and select Sign In.
- Select Library and Group and choose Qatar National Library from the list. You can also type the Librarys name to find it easily.
- Enter your library card number and PIN and click Sign In.
- Create your PressReader account.
Here are some useful sources on how to use the recommended databases above.
Interlending and Document Supply Service
The Interlending and Document Supply (ILDS) service provides you with materials in an electronic or print format that are not available in the Library’s resources and collections.
Are You Planning to Publish Your Research? Check This Out?
QNL offers a broad variety of services to support global dissemination and unrestricted-access to Qatar-based research such as having open access agreements with publishers, funding article processing charge (APC) to cover article processing charges in open access journals and developing a digital repository to support a permanent archive of Qatar-based research. Refer to these links for more information.
- Open Access Program
Open access refers to free unrestricted online access to research publications. It removes barriers to accessing research and ensures that your work reaches the widest possible audience, which increases the number of readers, citations, improves reproducibility and re-use of content. The Library supports global dissemination of and unrestricted access to Qatar-based research. To apply for publication funding, more information is found on this page including the active OA publishing agreements with various publishers.
- Manara - Qatar Research Repository
Manara is an open repository for Qatar-based researchers to upload and share their research. It collects, preserves and provides access to a variety of research outputs, including datasets, open access publications, pre-prints of research articles, and non-traditional academic outputs. It is a service managed by Qatar National Library and co-funded by Qatar National Research Fund.