Skip to main content
QNL Logo

Health Sciences: Home

Getting Started

You have several ways to find information. Use the:

Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.

Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.

A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.

Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.

Help is Here!

Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need! 

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library's Health Sciences Subject Guide!

This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to health sciences, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.

Locating health sciences books on the shelves

Most print titles you see in this guide are shelved or organized within the Classes RA, RC, and RJ of the Library of Congress Classification.

Health, nutrition, public health, and mental health titles are cataloged in the following call number ranges:

RA407-409.5 Health status indicators. Medical statistics and surveys
RA410-410.9 Medical economics. Economics of medical care. Employment
RA421-790.95 Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine
RA428-428.5 Public health laboratories, institutes, etc.
RA601-602 Food and food supply in relation to public health
RA440-440.87 Study and teaching. Research
RA790-790.95 Mental health. Mental illness prevention
RC620-627 Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases
RJ101-103 Child health. Child health services
RJ206-235 Nutrition and feeding of children and adolescents
 

Most health and nutrition titles are located in Tier 1 as mapped in the image below . The spread on the shelves varies as new titles are added regularly. For shelf information, refer to the Library catalog. 

undefined

Reference Librarian

Amani S. Alyafei's picture
Amani S. Alyafei
Subjects الموضوعات:
Diet and Nutrition الحمية والتغذية, Health Sciences and Medicine العلوم الصحية والطب, Science العلوم

Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.

How to Register as a Library Member

Innovation Stations

Programs and Events

Feedback and Suggestions 

How Do I Cite a Source