Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Print Books
This is a selection of recommended print books. For more online book titles, search the catalog.
The Effective Health Care Supervisor by The Effective Health Care Supervisor offers proven, hands-on, practical applications of both classic and current management principles in the healthcare setting. Packed with strategies, techniques, and tools to build or reinforce your management skills and meet the never-ending challenges that one may face daily as a healthcare supervisor, students and professionals alike will benefit from this classic guidebook that is now more reader-friendly and accessible. The Ninth Edition examines environmental changes and healthcare reform activities as well as updated and expanded information on HIPAA. Other current people-management topics such as social media in the work place, performance appraisals, recruitment issues, changes in overtime rules, and more are covered. This edition also offers new key terms in each chapter as well as a number of new end-of-chapter activities.
Publication Date: 2018-02-15
Careers Beyond Clinical Medicine by Career changes are becoming common among professionals in recent years. Many physicians may want to change direction, but often do not know whether it is the right thing to do or if pursuing a career outside of clinical practice would achieve their professional goals. This book shows physicians how they can serve society and patients in innovative ways, and make a notable impact on health care delivery, policy and quality when they use their medical background in a non-traditional career pursuit. Recent advances in healthcare technology, medical science, patient education require physicians to play new roles that have not traditionally been well-defined. Doctors can innovate and have a long-term productive impact on healthcare in the United States and throughout the world if they learn to seize the non-traditional career opportunities available to physicians, or even create a new way to fill a void in health care. Careers in Clinical Medicine helps illuminate that path.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Digital Health by This book presents a comprehensive state-of the-art approach to digital health technologies and practices within the broad confines of healthcare practices. It provides a canvas to discuss emerging digital health solutions, propelled by the ubiquitous availability of miniaturized, personalized devices and affordable, easy to use wearable sensors, and innovative technologies like 3D printing, virtual and augmented reality and driverless robots and vehicles including drones. One of the most significant promises the digital health solutions hold is to keep us healthier for longer, even with limited resources, while truly scaling the delivery of healthcare. Digital Health: Scaling Healthcare to the World addresses the emerging trends and enabling technologies contributing to technological advances in healthcare practice in the 21st Century. These areas include generic topics such as mobile health and telemedicine, as well as specific concepts such as social media for health, wearables and quantified-self trends. Also covered are the psychological models leveraged in design of solutions to persuade us to follow some recommended actions, then the design and educational facets of the proposed innovations, as well as ethics, privacy, security, and liability aspects influencing its acceptance. Furthermore, sections on economic aspects of the proposed innovations are included, analyzing the potential business models and entrepreneurship opportunities in the domain.
Call Number: R858 .D54 2018
Publication Date: 2018-01-15
When People Come First by When People Come First critically assesses the expanding field of global health. It brings together an international and interdisciplinary group of scholars to address the medical, social, political, and economic dimensions of the global health enterprise through vivid case studies and bold conceptual work. The book demonstrates the crucial role of ethnography as an empirical lantern in global health, arguing for a more comprehensive, people-centered approach. Topics include the limits of technological quick fixes in disease control, the moral economy of global health science, the unexpected effects of massive treatment rollouts in resource-poor contexts, and how right-to-health activism coalesces with the increased influence of the pharmaceutical industry on health care. The contributors explore the altered landscapes left behind after programs scale up, break down, or move on. We learn that disease is really never just one thing, technology delivery does not equate with care, and biology and technology interact in ways we cannot always predict. The most effective solutions may well be found in people themselves, who consistently exceed the projections of experts and the medical-scientific, political, and humanitarian frameworks in which they are cast. When People Come First sets a new research agenda in global health and social theory and challenges us to rethink the relationships between care, rights, health, and economic futures.
Publication Date: 2013-07-07
This is a small selection of available ebooks. For more titles, search the catalog or browse OverDrive database. Here is a guide to help you get started with OverDrive.
Why We Sleep by A New York Times bestseller and international sensation, this "stimulating and important book" (Financial Times) from the director of UC Berkeley's Center for Human Sleep Science is a fascinating dive into the purpose and power of slumber. As the Guardian said, Walker explains "how a good night's shut-eye can make us cleverer, more attractive, slimmer, happier, healthier, and ward off cancer." With two appearances on CBS This Morning and Fresh Air's most popular interview of 2017, Matthew Walker has made abundantly clear that sleep is one of the most important but least understood aspects of our life. Until very recently, science had no answer to the question of why we sleep, or what good it served, or why we suffer such devastating health consequences when it is absent. Compared to the other basic drives in life--eating, drinking, and reproducing--the purpose of sleep remains more elusive. Within the brain, sleep enriches a diversity of functions, including our ability to learn, memorize, and make logical decisions. It recalibrates our emotions, restocks our immune system, fine-tunes our metabolism, and regulates our appetite. Dreaming creates a virtual reality space in which the brain melds past and present knowledge, inspiring creativity. In this "compelling and utterly convincing" (The Sunday Times) book, preeminent neuroscientist and sleep expert Matthew Walker provides a revolutionary exploration of sleep, examining how it affects every aspect of our physical and mental well-being. Charting the most cutting-edge scientific breakthroughs, and marshalling his decades of research and clinical practice, Walker explains how we can harness sleep to improve learning, mood and energy levels, regulate hormones, prevent cancer, Alzheimer's and diabetes, slow the effects of aging, and increase longevity. He also provides actionable steps towards getting a better night's sleep every night. Clear-eyed, fascinating, and accessible, Why We Sleep is a crucial and illuminating book. Written with the precision of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Sherwin Nuland, it is "recommended for night-table reading in the most pragmatic sense" (The New York Times Book Review).
Publication Date: 2017-10-03
Medicine As a Scholarly Field: an Introduction by This book exposes, and fills, a notable void in the educational content generally covered in modern schools of medicine. It provides an introduction to the field at large in terms of content that is relevant for each of the specialties and sub-specialties of medicine; and to this end, it addresses the modern counterpart of the Hippocratic philosophy that was at the root of the genesis of modern medicine.
Publication Date: 2015-08-03
The 7-Minute Back Pain Solution by Banish back pain forever! Are you one of the millions of lower-back-pain sufferers who is desperate for relief? Have you ever been stopped in your tracks by pain so excruciating you were afraid to move? Have you spent countless hours seeing medical professionals? Now, with 7 easy stretches done in just minutes a day, you can finally relieve your back pain and prevent it from happening again. The exercises and tips in this book will teach you how to fight back pain anywhere, anytime, using the equipment you already have--your own muscles. Orthopaedic spine surgeon Dr. Gerard Girasole and personal trainer Cara Hartman have teamed up to develop a proven program that will help youThe detailed photographs and helpful lists in this book will guarantee you see results, while the guide to daily activities will show you how to prevent injuries, whether you're exercising, doing the laundry or commuting to work. Say goodbye to back pain, starting today.
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Everyday Healing by Almost half of Americans struggle with illness--everything from heart disease, diabetes, and lupus to fibromyalgia, rheumatoid arthritis, cancer, or chronic pain. More than a third of our population is obese. As a nation, we are sick--and getting sicker, but it doesn't have to be that way. Janette, who suffered with chronic illness for six years, knows how difficult it can be to get your health back. So instead of prescribing a specific treatment, diet, or exercise routine, Everyday Healing provides daily action steps to help you eliminate old habits and establish new paths to health. It offers practical guidance on overcoming healing challenges--from organizing your kitchen in order to cook healthier meals and boosting your confidence that you can heal, to having a tough conversation with an unsupportive spouse. Readers of Everyday Healing will find: Personal stories and medical studies that demonstrate the power of each daily action step. Tips to research and evaluate new treatment options effectively. Tools to manage tough emotions and create a fabulous support team. Organizing principles to routinize healthy eating, sleeping, and exercise.
Publication Date: 2015-07-20
For background information and definitions, use reference sources such as encyclopedias, specialized dictionaries and handbooks. These will help you familiarize yourself with different aspects of the research topics before you explore in depth.
Dictionary of Medical Terms by Although written primarily as a home reference guide, Barron's Dictionary of Medical Terms has been valued, used, and highly praised by medical instructors, student nurses, and others in the healthcare professions. This expanded and updated edition clearly and concisely describes medical terms in language that the layman can understand. Thousands of terms and definitions cover-- Descriptions of diseases and their symptoms First-aid procedures Human anatomy and body parts Dentistry Medications and their applications Instructive tables covering important elements, vitamins, trade and generic names of commonly prescribed drugs, and much more Many terms are supplemented with instructive line illustrations. Readers are also guided by extensive cross references.
Publication Date: 2012-11-01
Encyclopedia of Food and Health by The Encyclopedia of Food and Health provides users with a solid bridge of current and accurate information spanning food production and processing, from distribution and consumption to health effects. The Encyclopedia comprises five volumes, each containing comprehensive, thorough coverage, and a writing style that is succinct and straightforward. Users will find this to be a meticulously organized resource of the best available summary and conclusions on each topic. Written from a truly international perspective, and covering of all areas of food science and health in over 550 articles, with extensive cross-referencing and further reading at the end of each chapter, this updated encyclopedia is an invaluable resource for both research and educational needs.
Publication Date: 2015-09-14
Encyclopedia of Public Health by The Encyclopedic Reference of Public Health presents the most important definitions, principles and general perspectives of public health, written by experts of the different fields. The work includes more than 2,500 alphabetical entries. Entries comprise review-style articles, detailed essays and short definitions. Numerous figures and tables enhance understanding of this little-understood topic. Solidly structured and inclusive, this two-volume reference is an invaluable tool for clinical scientists and practitioners in academia, health care and industry, as well as students, teachers and interested laypersons.
Call Number: RA1-1270
Publication Date: 2008-06-09