Health Sciences: Home

Getting Started

You have several ways to find information. Use the:

Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.

Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.

A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.

Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.

Help is Here!

Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches. If you search a database and do not find the results you want, use Ask Our Librarians for assistance. Library staff are happy to help you find what you need!

Reference Sources

For background information and definitions, use reference sources such as encyclopedias, specialized dictionaries and handbooks. These will help you familiarize yourself with different aspects of the research topics before you explore in depth.

Credo This link opens in a new window This online database has 597 selected titles from 80+ publishers. Credo Reference authoritative content covers various major subject areas which include arts, medicine, psychology, history, technology, and literature. It offers a mixed collection of reference resources such as general and subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, bibliographies, chronologies, handbooks, atlases, and more. Its platform aggregates content to provide researchers with a cross-searchable learning experience via its signature concept map.
- This link opens in a new window

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine by Deirdre S. Hiam "Provides alternative medical information about complementary therapies, herbs and remedies, and common medical disease and conditions. Minimizes medical jargon, using language that any reader can understand while still providing thorough coverage of each topic"--
ISBN: 9781410394286
Publication Date: 2019-12-01

Patient Education Reference Center This link opens in a new window Patient Education Reference Center (PERC) features a comprehensive collection of current, evidence-based patient education information for clinicians, nurses and healthcare professionals. It includes customizable handouts that can be printed, and given to the patient at the point of care. Coverage includes more than 1,100 diseases and conditions, over 660 specific procedures and lab tests, nearly 2,000 lifestyle and wellness topics and more.
- This link opens in a new window
Rehabilitation Reference Center This link opens in a new window Rehabilitation Reference Center is updated weekly with the most current information available about speech, physical and occupational therapy. Content is created using a strict evidence-based methodology and protocol focused on systematic identification, evaluation and consolidation of practice-changing information. It includes nearly 800 clinical reviews and more than 3,000 relevant patient education topics in both English and Spanish.
- This link opens in a new window

Welcome!

Welcome to the Library's Health Sciences Subject Guide!

This guide provides an overview of the Library's recommended materials related to health sciences, including databases, books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print or digital, that are accessible through different websites and platforms.

Locating health sciences books on the shelves

Most print titles you see in this guide are shelved or organized within the Classes RA, RC, and RJ of the Library of Congress Classification.

Health, nutrition, public health, and mental health titles are cataloged in the following call number ranges:

RA407-409.5 Health status indicators. Medical statistics and surveys
RA410-410.9 Medical economics. Economics of medical care. Employment
RA421-790.95 Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine
RA428-428.5 Public health laboratories, institutes, etc.
RA601-602 Food and food supply in relation to public health
RA440-440.87 Study and teaching. Research
RA790-790.95 Mental health. Mental illness prevention
RC620-627 Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases
RJ101-103 Child health. Child health services
RJ206-235 Nutrition and feeding of children and adolescents

Most health and nutrition titles are located in Tier 1 as mapped in the image below . The spread on the shelves varies as new titles are added regularly. For shelf information, refer to the Library catalog.