Palestine Guide: Home
Welcome
Welcome to the Library's Palestine Subject Guide!
This guide is a collaboration between Qatar National Library and the Museum of Islamic Art Library as part of the two libraries' series of events about Palestinian history and culture. The guide provides an overview of recommended materials from both institutions related to Palestine, including print books, rare books, journals, reference materials and other resources, print and digital, that are accessible through various websites and platforms. The items are in several different languages, including Arabic, English, French and German.
Reference Librarian
Book Distribution
Qatar National Library books are arranged following the Library of Congress classification. A Library map is available on the website and on each resource page.
Getting Started
You have several ways to find information. Use the:
Catalog to search for print and non-print collections.
Discovery Search to search for resources available through the online databases.
Publication Finder to search for specific titles of eJournals, periodicals, series, eBooks, theses/dissertations, annual reports, and many more. Use this when you know exact publication title you are looking for. Note that if you are looking only for a specific article title, use the Discovery Search.
A-Z List of Titles to search for specific titles of e-journals.
Individual Database if you want to use a specific database. Simply click on the database name and search.
Most databases use a help feature that explains how to conduct simple and advanced searches.
Useful Online Resources
Use databases to find electronic articles in journals, newspapers and magazines. You can search for periodical articles by the article's author, title or keyword by using databases in your subject area. To access the A-Z list of journal titles, click here.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies (MECAS) is a bibliographic index of research, policy and scholarly communication on the countries and people of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.This database contains more than 760,000 records. Over 16,000 records of recently published literature are added annually. Subject coverage includes Arts and humanities, Cultural heritage, Economic affairs, Business and industry, International relations, Political affairs and law and more. MECAS combines sources from these databases: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalogue (1900-present), Middle East Bibliography (1946-2001), Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database.
This link opens in a new window
- Arab World Research Source This link opens in a new window Arab World Research Source is a full-text database for researchers of Arabic Studies, Middle Eastern Studies and Islamic Studies. It contains academic journals, magazines, and trade publications that are published in or about the Arab World.
- This link opens in a new window
- OverDrive This link opens in a new window OverDrive provides popular ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines for most devices. Libby is the app version of OverDrive. OverDrive web based app. OverDrive app for Andriod devices. OverDrive app for iOs devices.
This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Bibliography of Arabic Books Online This link opens in a new window It is an online bibliography covers all publication in Arabic which was published before 1960. The Bibliography has 60,000 records of sources in Arabic and Latin from The British Library, The National Library of Egypt, and The Library of Congress.
- This link opens in a new window
- PressReader This link opens in a new window PressReader is a journalism and media platform that partners with thousands of the worlds newspaper and magazine publishers to provide access to over 7,000 titles from +100 countries in 60 languages, available on desktop computers, tablets and smartphones. ** Steps to access PressReaders web interface: Visit PresRreader and select Sign In at the top-right of the page. Select Accounts and select Sign In. Select Library and Group and choose Qatar National Library from the list. You can also type the Librarys name to find it easily. Enter your library card number and PIN and click Sign In. Create your PressReader account. ** Steps to access PressReaders app interface: Download and launch the PressReader app from the store appropriate to your devices operating system (Windows, Apple, Android or BlackBerry). Select Accounts and select Sign In. Select Library and Group and choose Qatar National Library from the list. You can also type the Librarys name to find it easily. Enter your library card number and PIN and click Sign In. Create your PressReader account.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window DOAB demonstrates a growing multidisciplinary collection of around 11,000 academic and peer-reviewed open access ebooks.
- Al Manhal eBooks This link opens in a new window Al Manhal is a leading database that provides a unique opportunity to all QNL users to access Arabic ebooks, full text of peer-reviewed eJournals, and thousands of full-text dissertations & theses from the Arab world's leading universities, research centers and scientific societies. Al Manhal also provides you with the Middle East Strategic Studies Online (MESSO), which is the most comprehensive source for research, intelligence and analysis in Middle East affairs.
- This link opens in a new window
- Arabic Collections Online This link opens in a new window Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. ACO currently provides digital access to 13,224 volumes across 7,842 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries. Established with support from NYU Abu Dhabi, and currently supported by major grants from Arcadia, a charitable fund of Lisbet Rausing and Peter Baldwin, and Carnegie Corporation of New York, this mass digitization project aims to feature up to 23,000 volumes from the library collections of NYU and partner institutions. These institutions are contributing published books in all fields—literature, business, science, and more—from their Arabic language collections.
- HumanIndex This link opens in a new window HumanIndex is a pioneer source in diverse areas of humanities like history, geography, archeology, library and information science, and others. It allows specialists and researchers to access all the research and studies published in Arabic since 1940
- This link opens in a new window
The guides below is created by librarians to help you navigate the library databases
Here are some useful quick links that you may want to visit while using this guide.